1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Replace coil packs when replacing spark plugs?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Frogerelli, Apr 14, 2022.

  1. Frogerelli

    Frogerelli Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    38
    10
    0
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    2010 with 98,000 miles. I have the c1391 code for brake actuator failure so it seems like a good opportunity to replace the spark plugs too. Is it advised to change the coil packs at the same time?
     
  2. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

    Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    7,169
    6,717
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    not unless you have a failure indication. They are meant to last a long time and many cars go to the crusher with the factory set still in.

    So absent any misfire codes or suspiciously low fuel economy, keep going with what you've got.
     
    Pdaddy and Frogerelli like this.
  3. tankyuong

    tankyuong Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    1,555
    660
    0
    Location:
    Central MO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    II
    Mine still running strong at 200k miles
     
    Frogerelli and Pdaddy like this.
  4. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    11,103
    4,516
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Do you always fix stuff that ain't broke?
     
  5. Frogerelli

    Frogerelli Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    38
    10
    0
    Location:
    Fort Smith, Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Four

    I do. It's called "maintenance", just like with oil, tires, spark plugs and other things. In this case, my experience with coil packs is that on my '99 Volvo all failed, one at a time, within about 5,000 miles at 140k. And in that case I didn't need to remove any cowling or wiper assembly to access them.