Replace factory model 57031 with 57032 to get HD radio

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by rhodes2020, Apr 2, 2016.

  1. Doktor Calamari

    Doktor Calamari Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    13
    4
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I haven't had any problem with playing music over Bluetooth, oddly enough. I did recently buy the proper connecting cable on Amazon, along with an aftermarket GPS antenna, but I haven't had the opportunity to install either of them. I'll post when I have more news!
     
  2. whoDoctor

    whoDoctor Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    4
    6
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Thank you for this post! I bought a used headunit off of ebay as well as a gps antenna for a 04-09 prius. I did have to buy the connecting cable as well (search "Genuine Toyota Accessories PT296-47120-AB Wire Harness" on amazon). Swapping them out was very simple especially since I'm not much of a tinker guy. I watched a youtube video on how to disconnect the radio and now it all works great. I finally have my hd radio as well as gps in my 2013 prius two and I love it.
     
    Doktor Calamari and Michelle W like this.
  3. Michelle W

    Michelle W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    12
    7
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hey thanks "whoDoctor". I have been thinking about replacing my stock radio in my 2015 Prius, this convinced me to go for it. Found a radio for $158 on ebay, looking at an antenna. As for the antenna, did you get the OEM replacement (#86860-47060, looks like a metal square box) or an aftermarket? I found both on eBay, aftermarket is of course 1/3 of the price.

    What are the other "Apps" that are on the 57032 radio?

    Also wondering what it costs to update the GPS maps - if you can do it yourself, or take it to the dealership, etc. I have a Garmin GPS and sometimes use my phone, but hate taking my Garmin in the car (it's an expensive one I bought for the motorcycle), and talking while navigating on the phone is sometimes a pain in the butt, (I travel alot for work, and receive calls all the time..)

    Michelle
     
  4. whoDoctor

    whoDoctor Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    4
    6
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    II

    I did end up going with the 86860-47060 antenna. Fit perfectly in the lower left connector(if you are looking directly at the back of the unit). I cant recall all the apps as I only really wanted the maps. The apps include maps, opentable, pandora and about 4 or 5 other ones. I didnt update the maps per say, but I did update the entune version from 3.2 to 5.1. Toyota lets you download it for free directly from them and gives instructions on how to update it(google update toyota entune). I'm not even sure if this updated my maps or not but everythign seems to be there.
     
    Doktor Calamari likes this.
  5. Michelle W

    Michelle W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    12
    7
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Thanks "whoDoctor". Got my radio today, I thought about ordering the aftermarket cable as a test, but it would take a few weeks to get it (overseas). Luckily the connector cable was included with mine so I don't have to order that too.
     
    Doktor Calamari likes this.
  6. Michelle W

    Michelle W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    12
    7
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Installed my 57032 radio and the Toyota GPS antenna today - I just crammed the antenna up above the radio and it works fine. The whole install was incredibly easy, I just used a plastic putty knife (cut the more flexible end part off) to pop the plastics off.

    Now I'm working at getting it updated using the Entune download whoDoctor recommended above.

    Otherwise, HD FM and Nav work fine. No interest in XM so I'm not concerned about that.

    Michelle
     
    #26 Michelle W, Mar 10, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018
  7. Michelle W

    Michelle W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    12
    7
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Regarding the apps on the 57032 radio, I installed Entune on my phone (not 3.0 version) and attempted to setup an Entune account, but it said my VIN was invalid or the vehicle wasn't compatible. (I scanned the VIN from the door sticker and hand-typed it.) Have any of you that have updated their radio to the 57032 model been able to link their phone with their head unit?

    Edit... I found another article at another website that said to use the VIN from a vehicle with Navigation. I used the VIN from the vehicle the radio came from, which was salvage. The seller on eBay had included it. I was able to get an Entune account setup, but there is no connection to the vehicle within Entune despite that I have a bluetooth connection. Selecting any app on the head unit results in "Connection has failed. Please ensure that the Entune app is running on your device." (Yes, it's running.. I've shut down the program and restarted it a couple times.)

    Hmm..
     
    #27 Michelle W, Mar 10, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2018
  8. Michelle W

    Michelle W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    12
    7
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    From what I've read at another site, the iPhone won't work with Entune using the Bluetooth connection. (I'm sure it has something to do with a Bluetooth profile that the iPhone doesn't support - like how you need a Wifi OBDII dongle as the Bluetooth version doesn't work.) It does however work fine with USB. That's fine as I always have it connected for charging anyway.

    One mistake I did make during the install was to connect the car's USB/AUX connector to the radio instead of the Entune box. Once I switched the location, the USB/AUX ports worked fine.

    So, I'm up and working. I did update the Entune version to 5.2 with no issue.

    And just to add, I did read elsewhere that the $20 GPS antenna found on Amazon does work. Some have even used the same device as an XM antenna.

    My only wish is that the 57032 supported voice-input for destination like I've seen in other Toyotas. One YouTube video indicated this was added with the latest Entune update, but apparently for a different head unit.
     
    Doktor Calamari likes this.
  9. Doktor Calamari

    Doktor Calamari Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    13
    4
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Thanks for the info! I didn't know about the USB/AUX switch!

    Now that I know that the Amazon antenna isn't a total POS, maybe I'll be more inspired to finish my install!:D
     
  10. Michelle W

    Michelle W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    12
    7
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    s-l1600.jpg
    You are welcome!

    A couple things to add - as I said above, I used a plastic putty knife to remove the trim. It was a bit flimsy at the end so I just cut it off so I had just the more rigid part. Cheaper than buying a trim tool. Once you remove the trim panel around the shift knob, you only have to unplug the two connectors on the right side (the one on the left stays put..)

    I use Entune to enter my addresses and then use the head unit to copy my saved destinations. That way I don't have to hand-type in an address or perform a search from the head unit. (I travel a lot and always unique addresses, this allows me to plan my travel week ahead of time.)

    I'm attaching a pic to show where to plug in the USB/AUX cable. I put an X over the port you DON'T plug it in at.. (The picture shows a dummy plug in that hole, your head unit may have this or may be open.)
     
    #30 Michelle W, Mar 12, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
    slsmag and Doktor Calamari like this.
  11. slsmag

    slsmag New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I just dropped the same 70532 HU into my non-JBL 2012 Prius. Added the oem GPS antenna (under the dash) and aslo have a sat antenna that's mounted on top of the dash at the center of the windshield. AUX input Radio, HD radio, Bluetooth phone and media all work as they did on the old HU... but no GPS/NAV or SAT. ??? The HU is the same as the one in the photo above from Michelle W - so I assume it has the SAT receiver and GPS built-in? Can't figure out why the SAT and GPS don't work. Any thoughts? Anyone?
     
  12. Michelle W

    Michelle W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    12
    7
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yes, it has both built-in.

    For XM/Sirius, you would have to subscribe to their service (which I don't, but I do have another device with XM.) What message are you getting when you attempt to use XM?

    As for GPS, what message are you getting when you attempt to use it?
     
  13. slsmag

    slsmag New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    SAT just says "NO SIGNAL".
    I should get CH1 even without a subscription.

    I've updated the HU s/w to the latest (v.5.something) which also means the USB/UX cable is in the correct port on the HU.

    SAT and GPS antennae are properly installed (I think).

    When I try to start any APP (MAP, PANDORA, etc) it says 'connection failed'.

    Just can't figure what I'm missing.


    The radio, AUX and BT phone/audio all work fine.
     
  14. Michelle W

    Michelle W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    12
    7
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    This wouldn't apply to the maps - but do you have Entune installed on your phone and connected to the car? Pandora won't work without it. It uses the pass-thru of the Entune software for Internet access.

    With mine, an iPhone, I had to cable it directly via USB to the port in the center console (the enclosed part). An Android should be able to work over Bluetooth.
     
  15. slsmag

    slsmag New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I upgraded my HU from 50731 to 50732 and added an OEM Sat antenna and an aftermarket SAT antenna. The HU seems to work just fine, but I have no GPS or SAT. Can you point me to the YouTube video you viewed? Thanks.
     
  16. slsmag

    slsmag New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Entune on the 50732 won't pair with Entune on my android phones - just says 'connection failed' even though BT works fine for Audio and phone. Could be the phone(s) are compatible but its hard to imagine why.
     
  17. Michelle W

    Michelle W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    12
    7
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Does Entune show that it's connected to the vehicle?
     
  18. slsmag

    slsmag New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    no, it doesn't.
     
  19. slsmag

    slsmag New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Thanks Michelle - Finally got entune connected by deleting the app from the (android) phone, setting up a new entune account at myentune with the HU's donor vehicle VIN and then reinstalling entune on the phone.

    So, now I have access to the entune apps - but the GPS is still not working - it doesn't find my current location... so something is either wrong with the GPS setup/antenna or the GPS hardware. I guess it's time to start testing things.
     
    Michelle W likes this.
  20. Michelle W

    Michelle W Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    12
    7
    0
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    That's awesome, a step further! Ok, where do you have the GPS antenna attached? Is it plugged into the unit attached to the bottom of the radio? It's circled in my picture on a previous reply.
     
Loading...