1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Replace whole rear left door

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Meadow, Jan 30, 2020.

1. Meadow

Meadow New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I have a basic Gen 2 from 2005. She runs great but rust has destroyed a large portion of the back left door. It is no longer inspectable. My mothers friend has almost the same model and color and is retiring her car. My Bodyshop says to replace the whole door it would cost $800, plus time. So... I’m not a mechanic but I know my way around a lug nut. How technical is a whole door replacement, and how does the wiring/ re-wiring work? I can’t find any good info on the web. As far as I can tell there are only about five bolts between me and a new door. But the wiring worries me.

2. valde3

valde3 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    There's one connector for the entire door. Connector is just at the at the car side of door flex (rubber that allows wires to bend when opening and closing the door). So just get it unplugged and then remove the bolt from check strap and then unbolt the hinges. A second person makes it a lot easier to change the door.

SFO likes this.
  3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Possible headache: alignment of the door? Maybe more so if the car was in an accident, slightly bent?

4. valde3

valde3 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    If either of cars haven't been in accident where door or area around it got damaged alignment is not hard. Especially if you're fine with it not being perfect.

Mendel Leisk likes this.
  5. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Welcome to PriusChat!!
    You've got this, and like @valde3 said a second (or third set) of hands will make this a quick and easy project.