Replacing brake fluid and bleeding brakes on a GEN II Prius without Techstream

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by zak.kapoor, May 3, 2015.

  1. Paul E

    Paul E New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    1
    1
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    THANKS !!!! THANKS !!!! THANKS !!!!

    I just replaced the ABS actuator pump with a used one from eBay. I looked into getting a Techstream cable and program, but was turned off by the software requiring old versions of Windows. Also, I prefer not needing some remote person fixing the install.

    I removed the bad ABS pump, installed the eBay pump, and bleed the brakes following these instructions. One caveat, I had no helper other than my umbrella against the seat and on the brake pedal for the final bleed and bleeder lock. I bleed about 8 oz out at each brake bleeder just to be sure (I had a quart of brake fluid). Everything is working great!
     
    SFO likes this.
  2. Skibob

    Skibob Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    2,882
    1,464
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I installed mine on a windows 10 netbook. It is a single core though. Either way there are ways to install it on newer machines
     
    SFO likes this.
  3. Raul Tejeda

    Raul Tejeda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    4
    2
    0
    Location:
    Temecula
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hello Everyone!

    I’m new here and need your help with a couple of questions, please advise?

    First, the way the original poster placed the car in maintenance mode; is it the same as the maintenance mode you can put the gen II as you see here:

    Putting your Toyota Prius into maintenance mode – getting the engine to stay running
    1. Turn the vehicle to accessory mode, Ready-off. ...
    2. Depress the accelerator two times fully.
    3. Put the vehicle in neutral.
    4. Depress the accelerator two times fully.
    5. Put the vehicle back into park.
    6. Depress the accelerator two times fully.
     
  4. Raul Tejeda

    Raul Tejeda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    4
    2
    0
    Location:
    Temecula
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Also, where can get a cheap copy of techstream fir Windows 10?

    Thanks again!

    R
     
  5. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,957
    30,742
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Hopefully clarifies.
     
    SFO likes this.
  6. Raul Tejeda

    Raul Tejeda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    4
    2
    0
    Location:
    Temecula
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Please disregard; found them on Amazon at a reasonable price.

    Thanks anyway!

    R
     
  7. Raul Tejeda

    Raul Tejeda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    4
    2
    0
    Location:
    Temecula
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi Mendel,

    I figured it out; yes, it's different mode altogether. Did my breaks last Friday, following the original poster's instructions and it was a success!

    Thank you! anyway and many Thanks! to zak.kapoor for posting this great write-up.

    R
     
    Maze62 and Mendel Leisk like this.
  8. talonts

    talonts VFAQman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    443
    67
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Techstream doesn’t require an old version of Windows, nor 32-bit. It USED to, but there are instructions out there for installing on 64-bit systems. I combined the instructions from several people into one doc that makes it a bit easier, and only have it on 64-bit machines. Windows 7 for now, but I can upgrade one to 10 to make sure it still works if someone wants verification.

    I could post my instructions, but they also include some files, from what I can remember, so I’ll need to check, it’s been a while since my last install.

    I’m not sure what you’re talking about with that last bit about “some remote person”...
     
    SFO and Mendel Leisk like this.
  9. Travis Decker

    Travis Decker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    106
    93
    0
    Location:
    Portland OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    II
    It's the driver for the VCI or cable, not techstream that is the issue. With the correct driver it works 32 bit or 64 bit. You can also make some registry changes and make the 32 bit driver function on 64bit windows.
     
  10. Prius_owner

    Prius_owner New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    2
    1
    0
    Location:
    Asheville
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hey Prius community!!!
    I just bleed my brakes on my Prius using the methods explained. Everything was going great. When I went to go start the car all the lights were flickering. The 12v battery had died. After changing it the flickering went away. Everything looked good but it wouldn’t start. It cranks but wouldn’t start and throws a don’t start code. Any ideas? I checked all the fuses using a multimeter.
    P0A0F and p3190 codes were pulled.

    thanks
     
  11. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,957
    30,742
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Did you do the brake bleed with the car "ON", using some manner of invalid mode. Probably ran the battery down. It's good to have a charger hooked up while doing that that.

    I would check the voltage with a multimeter, try a smart charger session.
     
  12. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    12,013
    8,710
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Didn't catch this at the time, but better late than never: accessory mode is one press, foot off brake. Two presses, foot off brake, is ON mode.

    Two pushes was probably right, because I think the procedure requires ON mode (not ACCessory, and not READY).
     
    Maze62 likes this.
  13. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,957
    30,742
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I haven't seen 2nd gen brake bleed procedure without Techstream. 3rd gen yes, and it requires "invalid" mode. @Prius_owner were you following 3rd gen procedure, as far putting it in "invalid" mode? Or?

    FWIW, if I had a 2nd gen, with the absence of clear (non-Techstream) procedure, think I'd just let a dealership do it. A fair price would be around $100
     
  14. Prius_owner

    Prius_owner New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    2
    1
    0
    Location:
    Asheville
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II

    I had the car in the second position. 2 button presses without pushing the brake. I used the method explained by shorting the ports in the OBD2 port
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  15. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,957
    30,742
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Good to have a smart charger hooked up for the duration of the bleed; cheap insurance.
     
  16. oldshadetrEE

    oldshadetrEE Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    North East Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    I bought a cable with Techstream but have been unable to get it to "connect" to the car. There are almost zero instructions with what I purchased for troubleshooting. Any recommendations on where to get something with a reasonable (doesn't have to be a novice-level) set of documentation?
     
  17. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,957
    30,742
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I've no TS experience but lots here do.
     
  18. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,301
    2,858
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    When you plug the USB end of the cable into your computer, does it make the "New USB device detected" sound?

    In Techstream, did you check that your device is selected in the VIM selection menu? If you have MVCI, you should see two options the second showing X-Horse in the name. Make sure that one is selected.

    VIM Selection.png TS VIM Detail.png

    If it is not either of these, then we'll need far more detailed info to be of further help.

    If your Techstream came on a CD, make sure you scan it looking carefully at all the files that might have helpful setup info.
     
    #38 dolj, May 5, 2020
    Last edited: May 5, 2020
    SFO likes this.
  19. donzoh1

    donzoh1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    235
    106
    0
    Location:
    Lenexa, KS
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    So you're able to get a whole gallon of brake fluid in? Do you have the original reservoir?
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  20. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,957
    30,742
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I've done a quart, every time I "change" it. Very hard to find the spec'd qty.
     
Loading...