1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Replacing burnt out headlight questions

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Max Cold, Apr 10, 2013.

1. Max Cold

Max Cold New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Replacing burnt out headlight questions
    one of my low beams headlights is burnt out so I need to replace the bulb. It is my first time, but from what I have read it is not easy. I did a search and couldn't find an all-inclusive directions on how to do it. wiki-how has a long description on how to do it but no pictures. Another thread on here has a video of someone at the dealership taking off part of the bumper to get to the light. (See links below) This is different than the wiki- how way to do it which involves using a mirror and having small hands which I don't.
    So I was wondering from people who have done it:
    should you un bolt that half of the bumper to get out the light?
    Is it one of those projects that can go bad pretty easily and end up worse than when you started?
    Or does it just takes some patience?
    I have unpaid vacation next week and wouldn't mind saving the $100 plus for labor charged at the dealer.
    Let me know what you guys think before I get into a mess.
    Links:
    How to Replace Headlight Bulb on 2005 Prius - wikiHow
    video on bumper getting taken off to pull off headlamp assembly:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zG2BPEK0dQ&feature=player_embedded

2. edthefox5

edthefox5 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Its a nightmare. Just did it 3 weeks ago without taking the bumper cover off. Did it with the mirror.