1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Replacing Inverter cooling pump

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by flyerjonathan, Jul 27, 2016.

1. flyerjonathan

flyerjonathan Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    07 Prius. So I get the triangle of death, car shuts down, and throws the A093 code indicating pump failure. Confirmed by a shop... but the shop wanted $600+ to replace. Ordered a replacement pump for $110 and found this video on how to do the repair.

I am a average mechanic. Just asking if anyone out there has any "watch out for this" things I should watch out for. Thanks.

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    That video is pretty good, looks pretty easy. Just need to have 2 sets of hose pinch clamps.

3. andrewclaus

andrewclaus Active Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    That is a good video. It might try doing it without pulling the headlight but I'd definitely drain and replace the coolant, and I have some long pliers for the hose clamps and long extensions and a U joint for my socket set.

Be sure to wipe up coolant spills on finished surfaces. Good luck with.

4. M in KC

M in KC Active Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I wouldn't worry about the hose clamps. Just plan to drain and refill your invertor with fresh coolant. You are going to have to buy at least 1 gallon of SLLC anyway you might as well drain the entire cooling lope and be set for another 50K miles. .02

Stimp likes this.
  5. flyerjonathan

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I went ahead a removed the head light, used the clamps. Done in 55 minutes. :) $600+ mechanic price can kiss my nice person.

Skibob likes this.
  6. andrewclaus

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Glad to hear it went so well. Congratulations. I bet you're a step above the "average" mechanic, at least around my neighborhood.