reprograming used smartkeys for 2010 prius

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by syncmaster, Nov 6, 2010.

  1. syncmaster

    syncmaster Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    229
    12
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I just had a hell of a time finding someone that could reprogram used smartkeys for my 2010 prius.

    I called a few dealers and they didn't think it could be done.
    I called alot of locksmiths and I found 1 that said he could do it.

    he programmed in 4 smartkeys , 3 of them were used that I bought on ebay.

    his name is Doug
    name of business : All Auto locks
    phone : 516-356-4800
    location: Copiague , NY ( on Long Island )

    Doug is a great guy and knows what he is doing, he even carries spare blanks for the 2010 prius. His van looks like a operating room

    here is a link to his site:
    Home - All Auto Locks
     
  2. bedrock8x

    bedrock8x Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    1,483
    134
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    How much did he charge you?
     
  3. syncmaster

    syncmaster Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    229
    12
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I took the car to him in Copiague and saved $65.00
    $80 to program the 1st smartkey
    $45 for the 2nd
    $30 for the 3rd

    $30 for each emergency cut key

    I also bought a couple of emergency keys that look like a normal key so I could put it on my key ring and also want to do a hide-a-key, those cost $20 each

    I'm sure I saved at least 60% of what a dealer would charge.....if a dealer could even do it.
     
  4. Jolly Paul

    Jolly Paul Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    162
    28
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Sort of unrelated, but I recently returned from Hawaii and apparently stealing key fobs is big business on the beaches of Oahu. There have been many instances of bags/packs stolen while the owners are swimming, and the bags are found at the edge of the park with most of the belongings left behind and the fobs gone. I suspect they get "recycled" on eBay or sold back to rental car companies.
     
  5. DumbMike

    DumbMike Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    556
    119
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I called the guy to see if he had a referral for Los Angeles, but he said he didn't know anybody in Los Angeles. He said he knows a guy in San Francisco, so for those of you in the Bay Area, you might want to call this guy. However, he couldn't guarantee any prices (of course). I like to work by referral because I believe in the "birds of a feather" theory works: If I like the initial guy, I'd probably like the referral.

    He sure seemed like a real nice guy who was willing to give as much information as he could. He thought I was nuts, calling him from Los Angeles, but then understood after asking for the referral. By the way, his phone number is 516-356-4800, not 516-256-4800 (small typo on the original post).

    Dumb Mike
     
  6. syncmaster

    syncmaster Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    229
    12
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    thanks for letting me know about the typo on his phone # , I corrected it up top.

    call around to your local locksmiths and ask if they can reprogram a used smartkey into a 2010 prius, if they have the latest software it is really easy to do.
    they just plug a handheld computer into the OBD port and run the program. it takes about 15 min for the whole process.

    I think it will be easier to find a locksmith with the latest software next year (2011) , by then more locksmiths will have updated their computer software.

    Doug does work for enterprise car rental so he has to have the latest software.

    most toyota dealers do a "add a key function" , this will only work if the smartkey is new and has never been programmed by another car.

    for a used smartkey the dealer would have to do a "master reset".
    to do a master reset they have to call a place on the west coast and give the vin# then they get a seed# to enter into the computer.
    now the car computer system will accept the used smartkeys.

    the lastest software the locksmiths use to do a "master reset" bypass all that seed# stuff and it is really simple.
     
  7. qbee42

    qbee42 My other car is a boat

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    18,058
    3,051
    7
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    This raises some real red flags from a security standpoint. Obviously the software is restricted to locksmiths, but that never seems to keep it out of the wrong hands. If no seed is needed, it means it will be easy to steal a 2010 Prius. I wonder what prevents this sort of theft?

    Tom
     
  8. rrolff

    rrolff Prius Surgeon

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    1,610
    244
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    The full version TIS software is generally available on the Internet. Many in the PC world already have it.

    It requires a $400 adapter to go to PC.
     
  9. syncmaster

    syncmaster Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    229
    12
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    You need a original smartkey and the car in the ready mode to connect with the car computer in the first place.

    If you don't have a working smartkey it will cost you a couple thousand dollars to change the computer in the car. Thats why a lot of prius owners are nervous about having spare smartkeys programed to their cars.
     
  10. qbee42

    qbee42 My other car is a boat

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    18,058
    3,051
    7
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Not true. It is a common misconception that you need to replace the ECU if you lose the keys. All that is required is a master reset, followed by a new seed code provided by Toyota. It is more expensive than simply adding an additional smart key, but a *lot* less expensive than swapping out the ECU.

    Tom
     
  11. GWhizzer

    GWhizzer not so Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    120
    24
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Around the circle we go again...I'm having a really difficult time sorting out truth from myth. Most threads and/or advice indicate that to program a previously-used key, you need a new seed, but NOT a new computer. Now it appears that if you have at least one of the original keys, then you DON'T need a new seed. But if you don't have any keys, then a new seed is not good enough and you need to replace the ECU (for $$$$). Is this a gen2 vs. gen3 thing? Or is it just confusion.

    Clearly you said that you have had a used key added without a new seed (assuming you had an original key). So I'll take your word for this even though it is different from previous similar posts. Does anyone have first-hand experience reprogramming used keys when you don't have an original anymore?
     
  12. GWhizzer

    GWhizzer not so Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    120
    24
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks. Guess we were busy posting at the same time...I assume this would include used keys? I can hardly wait until the software is more common, the cost of these smart keys is a BIG pet peeve of mine...and this would give the dealership some real competition.
     
  13. qbee42

    qbee42 My other car is a boat

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    18,058
    3,051
    7
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Yes, this includes used smart keys. The obvious reason that you need a new seed code is to prevent an unauthorized person from making a new key. Without this level of protection, anyone with the software could hook up to any Prius and program it to accept a new fob, then drive off with their new acquisition.

    Not all dealers are familiar with this process. If you run into trouble, find another dealer.

    Tom
     
  14. GWhizzer

    GWhizzer not so Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    120
    24
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Ya, I'm all for a new seed. I get the security issue otherwise. I'll even pay a "reasonable" price for that new seed should I lose all my keys. The safeguards in the system are not my beef. Just the prices. Given this "new" ability to easily add additional keys (new or used) by a third party, I expect prices will fall as Toyota's monopoly ends. Viva la Competition!
     
  15. ponderous

    ponderous Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    2
    3
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks for all your interest on training key fobs to the 2010 Toyota Prius, I am the Locksmith this post was started about, Let me clear the air on what can be done with this vehicle.
    Yes there is after market software that can train keys to this vehicle without using TIS software and seed codes to be able to train keys.
    Yes used keys can be trained in as long as you do what is called an ECU reset that takes 16 minutes to run then run a second function to add in the keys.
    No the software is not available to all locksmith out there right now; the software is by Advanced Diagnostics I am involved with the company with software testing and developing. There is a couple of other Locksmith across the country that also has the available to this software right now they are also testers for AD.
    It should be available before the end of the year for sale to locksmith that has the AD Pro units. (Check with you local Automotive locksmith to see if he uses this make equipment)
    It is the most advanced equipment on the market today for training transponder keys and remote to vehicles in the world no other tool can do what it does.
    I am also able to train fob keys into the 04 to 09 Prius vehicles and able to reset the ABS system light if it should be set off by adding keys to the vehicle which can happen when you are doing the training. This software should also be available for sale on AD Pro units before the year is out.
    Dealers charge anywhere from $ 250.00 to $1000.00 to reset this problem with the ABS system.
    There is on Toyota vehicle that need to have the ECU replaced to train keys to the vehicle, the ECU can be reflashed to new to accept new keys.
    If you are worried about problems I also have the factory Toyota TIS software with full access to the seed code and resets of faults codes.
    If you are here on Long Island and need this fobs trained to you vehicle give me a call at 516-356-4800. Doug Lown All Auto Locks
    :cool:allautolocks.com
     
  16. mad-dog-one

    mad-dog-one Prius Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    1,181
    417
    0
    Location:
    Whereabouts Unknown
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    ----USA----
    For folks in the Inland Empire of California, there is a Locksmith in Riverside than has the Advanced Diagnostics equipment, updated software and know how necessary to reprogram the Gen III Prius to accept an already used smartkey.  The company is Pop-A-Lock and the Locksmith, Art Irvin, can be reached at (951) 992-1096 or using [email protected]. Like ponderous said in an earlier post, reprogramming the Gen III Prius for a previously used smartkey requires resetting the ECU (takes 16 minutes) and then sequentially adding each key (including the original). Art charged $75 for the first smartkey added and $40 for each additional key. I had two smartkeys added, for a total of three; there may be a limit of four keys that can be linked to the ECU for a particular car, although I am not certain about that limitation. As expected, Pop-A-Lock did not charge for the original key, which must also be reprogrammed after the ECU reset. The process is a little intimidating because resetting the ECU renders all smartkeys unuseable, until each key is linked with the car. In addition to programming the Gen III Prius for previously used smartkeys, Art can also add a new key ($200 for the smartkey + programming). I got used smartkeys on eBay for about $40 each and made certain they were the correct keys (Toyota part #14ACX) for the 2010/2011 Prius. Perhaps other smartkeys work, including the key for the remote start, but this is what I used. Several Toyota dealers in my area told me it was not possible to reprogram the Prius for a previously used smartkey and another tried, but failed, using the same smartkeys that worked for Art. The dealers recommended that I buy a new smartkey from their parts department ($395) and pay an additional $125 for programming to add the key. Thanks to the help of ponderous and Art, I can confirm that, with the right equipment, software and know how, it is possible to reprogram a Gen III Prius to accept used and working smartkeys for a fraction of the price that the dealer charges to add a new smartkey. Bye bye dealer and thank you Pop-A-Lock.
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. bbqnosher

    bbqnosher Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    33
    6
    0
    Location:
    us
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Any recent successes or failures in reprogramming/training used 3rd gen smart keys on 2011 Prius? Any lessons learned? Costs ? Do all Pop a Lock franchises have the correct software?
     
  18. wesayso

    wesayso Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    385
    35
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, VA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Can Advanced Diagnostics supply a list of their vendors that have this equipment/training and their locations?
     
  19. bbqnosher

    bbqnosher Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    33
    6
    0
    Location:
    us
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Well.....
    Plan A. The Toyota dealer I purchased the vehicle from indicated they could add the used smart key. After 1 hr trying they gave up. Plan B. I emailed Advanced Diagnostics in the US...(the sales/marketing person and their president) for a list of approved AD locksmiths in my area and received no reply. I then called AD..... and all you get is recordings and leave a message. No call back. I then emailed AD parent company in the UK and also received no response. Plan C ......Based on the success of a previous poster I contacted my local Pop-a-Lock locksmith. They use software by "Hotwire" rather than AD software. He didn't know if he could add/train used smart keys but would be happy to try for a nominal $65 charge success or fail. Anyone else having success retraining used 2010 smart keys? If so, can you describe how you had it done.
     
  20. mad-dog-one

    mad-dog-one Prius Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    1,181
    417
    0
    Location:
    Whereabouts Unknown
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    ----USA----
    bbqnosher: You might try phoning Art at Pop-a-lock in Riverside, CA [(951) 992-1096] and see if he knows a locksmith in your area with the AD equipment. Since my original post, Art has reprogrammed a third smartkey for our other Gen 3 Prius, so I can reaffirm that the method works. The smartkey reprogramming would also work for your dealer if they would reset the ECU. My Toyota dealer would not try this step, that will then require reprogramming the ECU to accept each of your smart keys (up to 4). Apparently this step is not required when programming a virgin smartkey. The NY locksmith (ponderous), in an earlier post in this thread, identified a locksmith in San Francisco using the AD equipment. Perhaps ponderous can help you identify a locksmith in your area. Good luck. With persistence and a lot of telephone calls, I was finally able to find a locksmith in my area with the necessary AD hardware, software, and know how.
     
Loading...