1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Reputable repair facilities for battery in Tacoma area?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by RedCactus, Aug 22, 2017.

1. RedCactus

RedCactus Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hello all, another newbie here with a major issue. Got the triangle of death at the start of the weekend, read the code and it stated that it needed a new battery. So off the car went to Toyota who has informed me we need to replace the entire battery. Since I bought this vehicle used from an outside source Toyota let me know that the dealership installed aftermarket parts which just raises the overall price of repair through Toyota. I'm trying to do some research and see if there are any reputable repair facilities in the Tacoma/Olympia/Seattle area that can help/provide me with more information.

There is also a plethora of information online promoting/discouraging just fixing the cells that are no longer functioning. I'm just on the hunt for any facts I can get at this point to better decide my next course of action.

2. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Welcome to PriusChat!!

How many miles on this vehicle?

The dealer mentioned after market parts, did they specify which parts exactly?

How much does the dealer want to replace the entire battery?

3. RedCactus

RedCactus Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Glad to be here! It has about 67,300 miles on it.

They didn't specify which parts, just that it was Toyota standard and increased the quote they gave me. I'm about to go to Toyota, should I have more pointed questions in regard to the parts?

They quoted $5100 without tax.

SFO likes this.
  4. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A