Respect for Umpires

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by jimofdg, Oct 13, 2005.

  1. jimofdg

    jimofdg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    533
    0
    0
    Location:
    DG, IL, US
    We all know baseball is not governed by machines. Many feel it should stay this way. Even the Angels' manager expressed this opinion in what this Sox fan feels was a professional response by all on the field last night (ALCS Game 2).

    For those off the field trying to get their minds around the twists of baseball lore, let me offer these simple rules, to which others may add or dispute (be brief):

    1. The umpire is right.

    2. You can't steal first.

    3. No crying in baseball.

    Now, on to California and let's win there. B)
     
  2. JMcPhee

    JMcPhee New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    202
    0
    0
    Location:
    Foothill Ranch, Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Correct. The umpire was right when he signaled a called third strike, twice, without saying "no catch", which a standard procedure in the majors in that situation. His arm and hand mechanics caused the Angels to stop play, so even if it was a wild third pitch, he caused a stoppage of play, and shouldn't have allowed the runner to advance to third. Thanks to my DVR, I was able to rewind and watch his mechanics for every other strike-out of the game, and he used the same signal to call outs every time a batter struck out.

    I can accept that he might have made a bad call, and I can accept that the ball may have appeared to hit the dirt from his perspective. What I can not accept, however, was his "interference", as a game official, when he signalled a stoppage of play, yet allowed one team to keep playing.

    A batter is out when... A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground.

    The batter becomes a runner when... The third strike called by the umpire is not caught, providing (1) first base is unoccupied, or (2) first base is occupied with two out; When a batter becomes a base runner on a third strike not caught by the catcher and starts for the dugout, or his position, and then realizes his situation and attempts then to reach first base, he is not out unless he or first base is tagged before he reaches first base. If, however, he actually reaches the dugout or dugout steps, he may not then attempt to go to first base and shall be out.

    Correct, no crying in baseball. Disappointment at bad officiating, not sadness, is the emotion of the day.
     
  3. efusco

    efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    19,885
    1,156
    9
    Location:
    Nixa, MO
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Gotta agree that whether or not the correct call was made as to whether the ball had been caught or not it seems the ump signalled an out. That would be 3 outs and would end the inning.

    It is possible that for the 3rd strike rule the out isn't official until it's called for the second time after the tag, but I don't know the rules of major league ball well enough to say for certain.

    But what occured didn't seem fair and certainly go the winning run on base allowing the win by the sox. And I like the sox.
     
  4. Jack 06

    Jack 06 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    2,556
    0
    0
    Location:
    Winters, CA: Prius capital of US. 30 miles W of S
    yet another example of why instant replay should be used in MLB, and managers given two challenges per game
     
  5. coloradospringsprius

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    171
    0
    0
    An apocryphal story about a dinner given in honor of the great umpire Johnny Klem by his fellow umpires.

    Late in the evening, after everyone's well lubricated, one of the umpires gets up and proposes a toast: "To Johnny Klem, who always call 'em the way he sees 'em."

    Another umpire gets up and says, "No - here's to Johnny Klem, who always call 'em the way they ARE."

    Johnny Klem gets up and says, "You guys are both wrong. Until I call 'em, they ain't nothin.'"
     
  6. jimofdg

    jimofdg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    533
    0
    0
    Location:
    DG, IL, US
    Here's my favorite story of umpires calling balls and strikes:

    One of the highest lifetime batting averages belongs to Rogers Hornsby of the Cardinals. A young pitcher was determined to get off to a good start against this tough batter.

    The first pitch was outside for ball one. The umpire said nothing.

    The next pitch was high, ball two. Still no sign from the umpire.

    After the third pitch and another blank stare from the umpire, the pitcher anxiously asked, "Well? Was that a ball or a strike?"

    "Young man," said the umpire, "when you ever throw a strike, Mr. Hornsby will let you know."

    Stay tuned for Sox beat the Red Team, Part 3 of 3! You know what that means?

    Bad news for lots of people named George.
     
Loading...