1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Restoring Alloy Wheels...or replace

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by C Clay, Dec 2, 2012.

1. C Clay

C Clay Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Any recommendations anyone can give on restoring these wheels corroded from either ten years of driving in the snow (or someone screwing them up trying to remove salt/road stuff from ten years in the snow).

I'm a newbie- didnt know if it was okay to replace them with a cheap aftermarket wheel at a tire warehouse?[​IMG]

2. F8L

F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I don't think they are worth restoring because nice wheels can be purchased fairly cheap ($200-$600). The cost of trying to restore them could be greater.

Look for used Prius wheels as replacements. Wheels from an GenII or GenIII (2004-2012) will fit. The 2012 black wheels sell for around $200-$500 with tires! Check eBay as well. The GenII 15" wheels are cheap.

3. F8L

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I just noticed that the wheel pictured is a 14" wheel. Do you own a classic Prius (2000-2003)?

4. C Clay

C Clay Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
  5. F8L

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I figured when I saw the 4 lugs. So disregard my earlier advice about used 2004-2012 wheels as they will not fit your car. If you can find a nice set from a wheel store you can use those. Just make sure the width and offset are as close as possible to the factory numbers.

6. C Clay

C Clay Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Thanks. Didn't know if it would ruin the synergy of the vehicle lol

7. F8L

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A