1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Rotten Egg Smell / Sulfur Smell?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by ITGuy1024, Aug 21, 2011.

1. ITGuy1024

ITGuy1024 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hey Guys / Gals,

For the last 3 months or so I have noticed my car is creating a rotten egg / sulfur smell when going up long steep hills. At first I was hoping it was just some older car a head of me causing it, but even with nothing a head of me the smell returns. AC is off and windows can be either up or down and I smell it.
    Car has 50,xxx miles, no codes, no change in mpgs.

Any ideas / input?

2. Feri

Feri Active Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I'm no expert but it might be an exhaust leakunder you car combined with a bad catalytic converter. Possibly the plastic fairings under the Prius cause air to sweep back up to the front of the car and enter the cabin air intake. Just guessing.

3. Corwyn

Corwyn Energy Curmudgeon

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Charging a lead-acid battery (auxiliary 12v battery) can give off hydrogen sulfide (the chemical in rotten egg smell). Perhaps you are only smelling going up hill, since it is lighter than air. Or you are charging mostly when going up hill. Just a guess.

[Edit: I should note, that the original 12v auxiliary battery is sealed, so if you are smelling its chemicals, you will want to check it out, and possibly replace it).]

4. GrumpyCabbie

GrumpyCabbie Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Isn't a rotten egg smell something to do with over fuelling the cat? Either that or a bad batch of petrol with too much sulphur in it.

I'd fill her up again from somewhere reputable and see if the problem starts to go away.

5. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model: