RPMs?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by BellevilleMXZ, Jun 14, 2021.

  1. BellevilleMXZ

    BellevilleMXZ Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2021
    47
    43
    1
    Location:
    Ontario,Canada
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius
    Model:
    Technology AWD-e
    I have yet to put an OBD dongle on this thing....What kind of rpms are these things turning at 60mph? 80mph?
     
  2. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    14,966
    8,372
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    How many RPM do you want?;)

    For your 2021 Prime, It can be anywhere between 0 and 5200.

    My Gen3 has a bit narrower range, 992 to 5200 rpm, at those speeds. While it should be easy to catch your Prime right at 0 rpm, it may be very hard to catch it in between 0 and ~992.
     
    privilege and alanclarkeau like this.
  3. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    6,686
    7,286
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It's everywhere. A Manual which is spot on, will stick at 2100 at 110km/hr.

    A torque converter auto (without lockup) will fluctuate by 10-15%

    Expect the PRIUS will go from zero to Redline and back again all the time. Quite hilarious to watch apparently.
     
    privilege and fuzzy1 like this.
  4. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    14,966
    8,372
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    2100 in a stick shift? Maybe for a 6 cylinder engine? My first Subaru 4-cyl was forced to a bit over 3000 at that speed (110 kmh or 68 mpjh). Current stick Subaru about 2500.

    On near-level roads, I think my Gen3 Prius generally swings between 1300 and 1800 at a steady 60 mph, depending on pavement smoothness, actual slope, wind, etc. But RPM necessarily rises with uphill slope angle, and climbs above 4000 on some that I travel. The Prime should be coarsely similar.
     
  5. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    6,686
    7,286
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yep - the other thing is that the PRIUS on the matching down-hill will be zero.

    I think my FOCUS 2.0 Diesel was about 2000 in 6th at 110km/hr. But - that was 9 yrs ago, so can't remember exactly. Yes, the V8s are ticking over at maybe 1600 at that speed - but a long time since I've driven one of them.
     
  6. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    14,966
    8,372
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Well, his Prime will be doing a nice silent 0 rpm on the same downhills where my non-plugin 2012 Liftback is screaming at 4600 rpm. :eek: Oh, the wasted gravitational energy that I must throw away as heat, not collect as battery charge.
     
    alanclarkeau likes this.
  7. FuelMiser

    FuelMiser Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    972
    686
    0
    Location:
    Monument, CO
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    1) Check YouTube for videos on the Hybrid Synergy Drive. 2) I believe there's a website with a simulator of the Power Split Device, where you can put in various RPM parameters for the ICE, MG1, MG2 and see the resulting MPH.
     
    BellevilleMXZ and alanclarkeau like this.
  8. privilege

    privilege Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2021
    386
    104
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    variables include:
    wind
    grade
    tire psi
    load
    trailer vs non
    roof rack vs non
    bag vs non
    drafting vs non

    just like any other car, the variables impact the cruising rpm.

    once the cables are considered, then you can look at how the ice puts energy into road speed through the cvt , which is actually an couple if electric motors. it's going to vary there also
     
  9. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    6,686
    7,286
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    The simulator I had bookmarked used "FLASH" which is no longer supported by Windows. There might be others though.

    Having this (ENERGY MONITOR) up on the dash gives a good idea why a TACHOMETER would be useless - or hilarious.

    upload_2021-6-15_23-8-21.png
     
  10. JimboPalmer

    JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    12,300
    6,693
    2
    Location:
    Greenwood MS USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I use a scan gauge 2 as a tach. (I also display instant mpg, water temp, and underhood air temp)
    In most terrains, rpms are basically random, but I live in a perfectly level flood plain called the Mississippi Delta. I can see wind direction, outside temp, and rain amounts variations. But anywhere else, all that is lost to elevation change.
     
    #10 JimboPalmer, Jun 15, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2021
    alanclarkeau likes this.
  11. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    14,966
    8,372
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    For those of us whose others cars have manual transmissions, none of those other variables affects RPM. Speed and gear choice fix the RPM.

    They won't affect automatics in locked mode either, but my last automatic was before the lock-up era.
     
    Valiant V and alanclarkeau like this.
  12. robsnyder20

    robsnyder20 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    338
    282
    0
    Location:
    SW Florida USA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    From my scangauge 2 in florida with AC on, RPM at 60 usually runs at 1185 - 1300 and at 80 will typically be 1900-2100. Of course if charging the battery it will be another 100-200 rpm more. Of course any inclines and declines will drastically change RPM. Also if behind a tractor trailer or another car will change RPM amounts also. Running at around 52 will yield the best MPG, averaging 990 or so once the battery topped off ~2 bars from max.
     
    BellevilleMXZ likes this.
  13. BellevilleMXZ

    BellevilleMXZ Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2021
    47
    43
    1
    Location:
    Ontario,Canada
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius
    Model:
    Technology AWD-e
    Thanks! I keep forgetting to put the dongle on this thing
     
  14. tucatz

    tucatz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    476
    399
    0
    Location:
    Manzanita, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    wish I knew what you guys are talking about…
     
    Valiant V likes this.
  15. robsnyder20

    robsnyder20 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    338
    282
    0
    Location:
    SW Florida USA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    We are talking about RPM on the Prius (a tachometer). I used to drive a manual shift car and I LIKE to know what the car is doing and when. Just because our car doesn't have a tach and doesn't really need one, doesn't mean I don't have to know. The scangauge is a piece of technology that plugs into your obd2 port (diagnostic port) and you can scan and clear codes, in addition to knowing lots of other info (thats probably not needed)
     
  16. JimboPalmer

    JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    12,300
    6,693
    2
    Location:
    Greenwood MS USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    The scangauge II and other OBDII devices can only see information actually on the CAN bus. In a Prius for example, there is no oil pressure gauge possible. The bus only knows 'Has pressure' or. 'Does not have pressure', so the OBDII device can not measure it in PSI

    However, there are at least 100 items it can measure.
     
    #16 JimboPalmer, Jun 22, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2021
    alanclarkeau likes this.
  17. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Resonant Resident

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    44,081
    31,602
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    In my experience with a ScanGauge constantly connected to OBD port, I started experiencing "Check Hybrid System" warnings, that "went away" when I disconnected it. Dealership mechanic figured it was too much weight, always shaking the connection. And maybe my knee jostled it. So I packed it in, no further problems.
     
    Valiant V and krmcg like this.
  18. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    12,964
    9,327
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    My experience has been nothing like that. ScanGauge constantly connected in my Gen 1 for 8 years and in my Gen 3 for five years so far.

    That said, it certainly is possible for something connected at that port to cause communication errors. I had a cheap cable with pins that weren't gold-plated that worked fine when first purchased but later would reliably glitch out the car simply by being plugged in. Replaced with a connector with gold plating and never saw any more of that.

    I have been temped to buy a short OBD-II extension cable and connect that more or less permanently to the car's connector, maybe with a couple cable ties to reduce motion, and plug my accessories into that. That way, if the contacts in that ever wear or get loose, it can simply be replaced.

    There is at least one report on here where someone had issues traceable to contacts in the OBD-II connector losing spring tension, corrected by carefully removing them from the housing and re-bending them some.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.