Safe to read codes with Techstream?

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by CharlieGulf, Feb 26, 2020.

  1. CharlieGulf

    CharlieGulf Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    15
    1
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Hello all,

    I had a problem with my brake system yesterday, including warning lights. Before I take it into the dealer, I'd like to use my Tactrix OpenPort 2.0 and Techstream to read any DTCs myself, so that I have my own record and can know what to expect. I've used these tools in the past to check firmware versions for recalls, but never for a serious problem. Will reading the codes myself clear or change them in any way? I don't want them to be gone or appear "old" when I get to the dealer (if that's possible), and I don't want to give them an excuse to not fix something they should if they can somehow see that I've read them. Can I read them and leave no trace?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    8,470
    6,096
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    It'll be fine. Just don't hit the clear button.

    Even if they could tell you had read the codes yourself, what would they do? Complain that you're not allowed to know what you're talking about?
     
  3. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    7,155
    8,792
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Yes you can. Reading the codes does not clear them. Those are separate functions.
     
    Air_Boss likes this.
  4. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    2,945
    694
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Dealerships hate, hate, hate informed customers... Read those codes.
     
    pjksr02, Raytheeagle and jerrymildred like this.
  5. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    1,870
    722
    1
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    If you find that the brake booster and actuator assemblies are bad, ask if the Toyota extended coverage campaign will cover it. Otherwise it is expensive, around $2250 at my dealer, which is discounted. My recent experience was the Prius v's are not covered.
     

    Attached Files:

    #5 rjparker, Feb 26, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2020
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    8,470
    6,096
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Techstream won't tell you what part(s) to replace, only what codes you have. Sometimes the short "fortune cookie" that shows with a code will have the name of a part, but what the code really means is in the repair manual, and can be caused by anything (wires, connections, debris, other sensors, etc.) that would trigger the detection condition for the code.

    You can follow up any codes you read by following the troubleshooting information in the repair manual, which often involves other instruments like a multimeter and other tests you can do (sometimes just further use of Techstream, like to read freeze frames or live data).

    Of course that makes you an even more informed customer, but where my experience differs from Air_Boss's is I've never gotten the feeling that my dealership hates, hates, hates me for it. Maybe they just hide it well.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
Loading...