Samsung A900 with Prius2006

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by osiris12, Jul 10, 2006.

  1. osiris12

    osiris12 Owner of 3, yes three priuses

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    119
    3
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Hi All,

    I just got Samsung A900 and the phone works fine with my '06.

    One basic question that might not be specific to my phone is, how can I get Prius to dial extened phone digits. I call a specific number, then want to enter a # then pause followed by a few other digits so I can hear my home phone voice mail?

    Is this possible?
     
  2. osiris12

    osiris12 Owner of 3, yes three priuses

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    119
    3
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(osiris12 @ Jul 10 2006, 08:52 PM) [snapback]284169[/snapback]</div>
    bump?
     
  3. tdub1974

    tdub1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    0
    0
    Location:
    Greenwood, IN
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(osiris12 @ Jul 11 2006, 02:00 PM) [snapback]284510[/snapback]</div>
    If you program it in to your phone (with the pauses) and then transfer it to the Prius phone book it works. I check my work voicemail every morning this way.
     
  4. osiris12

    osiris12 Owner of 3, yes three priuses

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    119
    3
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Indy_New_Prius_Owner @ Jul 13 2006, 11:08 PM) [snapback]286025[/snapback]</div>

    Interesting... I'll have to give that a try. Thanks
     
  5. Vagabond

    Vagabond Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    1,198
    1
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Indy_New_Prius_Owner @ Jul 13 2006, 08:08 PM) [snapback]286025[/snapback]</div>

    The a900 does not have the ability to push a contact to the Prius' sadly.
     
  6. sameoldg

    sameoldg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    5
    0
    0
    I'm interested in your success with this phone. Last I heard people were still having random incoming calls and other troubles with the handsfree functionality. Have those been resolved?
     
  7. chezypuffs

    chezypuffs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    39
    2
    0
    Location:
    Ruther Glen, VA
    The random or ghost calls is fixed by getting the latest update at a Sprint store. After I had this done it stopped :)
     
  8. sameoldg

    sameoldg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    5
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(chezypuffs @ Jul 17 2006, 10:42 AM) [snapback]287641[/snapback]</div>
    If I buy a new A900 will it already have this software, or do I need to ask for it? What is the software version that fixes this?
     
  9. osiris12

    osiris12 Owner of 3, yes three priuses

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    119
    3
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Vagabond @ Jul 14 2006, 12:54 PM) [snapback]286253[/snapback]</div>

    I was able to easily push phone numbers (one by one) to Prius.

    But I did notice that I cannot include long keystroke options. Like if I want to send a pause followed by about 10 additional digits, there is a limt on what Prius will accept.
     
  10. sameoldg

    sameoldg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    5
    0
    0
    What version of the software has this fix? I went to the Sprint store and they told me that if I can't get the software over the air on my phone then there is no software they can give me (and they would charge me $15 if they could anyway) I have ZB12
     
  11. mchinta

    mchinta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    63
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(sameoldg @ Jul 22 2006, 03:36 PM) [snapback]290611[/snapback]</div>
    You don't have to go to store to get this done. It can be done over the air if you have sprint PCS service.
    Go to Menu->Settings->(8) Others->(8)Update Phone firmware and it does it automatically all of the rest. After that phone behaves great without any further issues. This firmware update was released about almost 3 months ago and still that is the latest version that is available. My phone reads S.ES.A900 ZB12
     
  12. Vagabond

    Vagabond Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    1,198
    1
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(sameoldg @ Jul 22 2006, 01:36 PM) [snapback]290611[/snapback]</div>

    ZB12 is the current version. Now do me a huge favor and tell them that the ZB12 version is NOT available by over the air push AND that they cannot charge customers for software upgrades, only software CUSTOMIZATION. Such as pairing earpieces, setting up ringers, etc etc.


    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(mchinta @ Jul 22 2006, 11:43 PM) [snapback]290851[/snapback]</div>

    The latest version available over the air is ZA06 - which takes care of all bugs execpt for the bluetooth issue - it has to be done at a store due to a bug which can cause the phone's screen to turn white after the update. The only fix to that is to load the older version back in.
     
  13. mchinta

    mchinta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    63
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Vagabond @ Jul 23 2006, 02:36 AM) [snapback]290874[/snapback]</div>
    Vagabond,
    Since I purchased my phone about 7 months ago I never handed over my phone to a sprint phone representative. I just followed your guidelines to update the phone as and when new updates were released. At that time ZB12 was delivered over the air when we pressed update the phone and I will be surprised if Sprint stopped delivering this update over the air deliberately to charge customers service fees for this update.
     
  14. sameoldg

    sameoldg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    5
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Vagabond @ Jul 22 2006, 11:36 PM) [snapback]290874[/snapback]</div>
    So I am up-to-date already if my phone came with ZB12 installed?

    They said that if I didn't have the protection plan that they would charge me $15 for just doing the software update - i.e. if I couldn't do it myself OTA then it was $15 for me to have the technician do it.
     
  15. bradturner32

    bradturner32 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    6
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(sameoldg @ Jul 23 2006, 06:38 PM) [snapback]291141[/snapback]</div>
    According to this - the firmware was downgraded from ZB12 back to ZB06:

    http://www.pcsintel.com/content/view/1350/32/

    I didn't seem to have any issues with ZB06 and my '05 Prius until after I upgraded to ZB12. I need to have mine back revved to ZB06. :angry:

    Brad Turner
     
  16. Vagabond

    Vagabond Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    1,198
    1
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(mchinta @ Jul 23 2006, 11:01 AM) [snapback]291029[/snapback]</div>

    They stopped pushing it over the air a few weeks after it come out due to the whiteout issue.


    But as I said before, getting your phone updated with the latest software is FREE.

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(sameoldg @ Jul 23 2006, 04:38 PM) [snapback]291141[/snapback]</div>

    Yea, you're good to go.

    And they need to read the ESRP guide a little more closely. Manufacture updates are FREE. Software customization isn't.

    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Brad Turner @ Aug 2 2006, 03:26 PM) [snapback]296594[/snapback]</div>

    Um, that says ZA06. Not ZB06. The ZB06 update is for the a920.

    Don't slide back unless you want to deal with the phantom call issue.

    PS. Mr. Price (as usual) got his reporting wrong - the update was never pulled.
     
  17. bradturner32

    bradturner32 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    6
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Vagabond @ Aug 2 2006, 10:23 PM) [snapback]296760[/snapback]</div>
    I never had the phantom call issue with ZA06, but I did bring the phone in to have it backrevved and the tech claimed the phone fried taking the update so they had to replace it with a new one - with ZB12 already loaded.

    The only thing that has improved is that I now consistently see the "Bluetooth connection successful" message on the Prius screen whereas it was hit or miss with the last phone. I still, however, have issues with the phone transferring the audio correctly to the car - sometimes it does, and sometimes it doesn't. Options/1 does not transfer the audio still when in this condition.

    Brad Turner
     
  18. sameoldg

    sameoldg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    5
    0
    0
    After using this phone with the prius for a few weeks now, I'm really unimpressed. I get a phantom call whenever I receive a text message, and the phone has crashed a few times when I am on the phone and I get into the car.
     
  19. asleepfornow

    asleepfornow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Norfolk (Ghent), VA
    Hey everyone,

    First off, I'm a newbie here, so greetings!
    I just bought a '06 with package 6, and I am considering purchasing the Samsung A900M or the MOTOKRZR K1m (both via Sprint). Does anyone know if the A900M has any of the problems connecting with the Prius, mentioned in this forum, that the A900 seems to have? Anyone have the MOTOKRZR K1m and know how wells it integrates?
    I checked http://toyota.letstalk.com/ and I didn't see the A900, the A900M, or the MOTOKRZR K1m listed under compatible Sprint phones. The site does show the Katana works well, and the MOTORZR is listed under different service providers (than Sprint). Unfortunately, I don't find either of those phones appealing.

    Thanks,

    Rob
     
  20. VABeachPrius

    VABeachPrius Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    155
    5
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Asleepfornow,

    Welcome to the forum. OFF Topic: Notice my location? :D

    If you haven't purchased a phone; I have the KATANA by Sanyo with Sprint and it works very well.
     
Loading...