Scan Gauge II

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by cary1952, Aug 31, 2013.

  1. cary1952

    cary1952 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    403
    83
    0
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Where do you plug it inside the Prius? How do you mount it? On the window or on the dash, and can you buy the mount or does it come with one? Thanks.
     
  2. Fluxuated

    Fluxuated Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    133
    53
    0
    Location:
    Guelph, ON
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It plugs in the OBD Port. I placed mine ontop of the steering column against the dash with velcro, so it can be removed later. Then I ticked the cable behind the column so it's hidden. I can post pics if you want. Really easy to do, and it's always in front of me, but not distracting. Glad you got the Autozone deal. I wasn't able to, as I'm in Canada. Wanted one for my wife's "C"
     
  3. cary1952

    cary1952 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    403
    83
    0
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Thanks I would love pictures. PM'd you also.
     
    hybridbear likes this.
  4. Fluxuated

    Fluxuated Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    133
    53
    0
    Location:
    Guelph, ON
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  5. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    88,019
    39,231
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    very nice!(y)
     
  6. Fluxuated

    Fluxuated Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    133
    53
    0
    Location:
    Guelph, ON
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It works great, and it's not perminent. You can take it out anytime, and there won't be a mark left. It's been installed like that for 2 years now, and no issues.
     
  7. JimN

    JimN Let the games begin!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    7,028
    1,105
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    My SG is mounted to a Sticky Pad with 3M Blue Putty. That Sticky Pad partially sits on another pad that has melted to the dash. The cable runs through the gap by the steering column. I bought a second cable for diagnostic use in other cars. The unit is sold with one cable. You have to buy everything else separately.

    It seems to me the ideal location would be permanently mounted at the left of the instrument panel but I'm not going to cut a hole in my dash.
     
  8. priusincc

    priusincc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    332
    16
    0
    Location:
    NV
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I mounted mine the same way. The only trick is to set the steering wheel telescoping feature before you mount the unit, so you won't run into problems later. Mine has no issues, even though it gets a lot of sun.
     
  9. cary1952

    cary1952 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    403
    83
    0
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I bit the bullet and ordered one today from Autozone.com. On sale for $127 + tax. Free shipping. Thanks for everyone's input.
     
  10. cary1952

    cary1952 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    403
    83
    0
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Installed my Scangauge today using the same setup as above. I've been playing with it for a couple of hours.
     
    hybridbear likes this.
  11. heyjack70

    heyjack70 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    25
    7
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I just installed mine today too! Disabled reverse beep. Have the guage showing rpm, coolant/enging temp, throttle position, and battery voltage.
     
  12. cary1952

    cary1952 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    403
    83
    0
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    So how can the scan gauge actually save me money?
     
  13. cary1952

    cary1952 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    403
    83
    0
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    FYI. $50 off ScanguageII at Advancedautoparts.com. Coupon code DOW36. Today is last day that coupon code is valid.
     
    hybridbear likes this.
  14. heyjack70

    heyjack70 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    25
    7
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    That's a tough one. I think the advantage of the scanguage is to have more data, which is interesting to me to know about how the car is running. Not a money saver. I think you can keep tabs on the 12V batter voltage; it may be that as the batter is dying you will be able to pick it up sooner and avoid any need to pay for tows or auto service. That could save you the cost of the device.
     
  15. jdcollins5

    jdcollins5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    5,131
    1,306
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    There have been several good threads on here about using SGII parameters to increase mpg and fuel efficiency. Try the search function and try terms such as hypermiling, fuel efficiency.
     
  16. hybridbear

    hybridbear Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    267
    68
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Persona

    Can you please add some more pictures in addition to what Fluxuated posted? I'm not quite following where the cable runs once it goes down behind the steering wheel and how it comes out at the bottom. And how do you secure it? I have a few feet of extra cable and didn't see a good spot to secure it easily where it would be out of the way. For me it's important to be able to easily move the SGII back and forth between the Prius and our Fusion Hybrid, possibly multiple times a week depending on which car I'm driving. Thanks!
     
  17. cary1952

    cary1952 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    403
    83
    0
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hey again! There is a plate (with a 1/2 inch opening) above the OBD socket where you thread the cable through and then you can roll up and I just used 2 ties and tucked 3 or 4 loops of extra cable above the same plate . You thread from the OBD up, not from the steering wheel down. It really is self intuitive once you go to the car and look at it and took me about 3 minutes to figure it out. I would buy an extra cable if you want to have it in 2 cars. Pictures would not be helpful because cable is hidden, sorry. Once you have the cable you honestly will have no problem! Enjoy.
     
  18. mrbigh

    mrbigh Prius Absolutum Dominium

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    3,686
    685
    2
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle


    I think you should have it installed for you !!!!
     
  19. Potorap

    Potorap Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    291
    116
    0
    Location:
    Pahrump, Nv
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Purchased Scan Gauge from Advance auto parts on Friday. Scheduled to arrive on Monday. $50 bucks off with DOW36 code, $109.99 delivered to my door. Great deal, thanks to all
    for advice. Will install next week.
     
    hybridbear likes this.
  20. cary1952

    cary1952 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    403
    83
    0
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    $50 off scanguageII at advanceautoparts.com. Today only 9/14//13. Use code DOW37.
     
Loading...