ScanGaugeII work on 2010?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by taxachusetts, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. epboyd

    epboyd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Can someone tell me how to translate these into a CAN frame send/receive format (similar to frenchie's prius-touring-club.com/documents/prius_gen3_can_codes_v001.pdf )?

    Thanks.
     
  2. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Not all the frame data is in an XGAUGE so you can't reverse it like that. Only the request is there and what to look for in the response.
     
  3. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I was playing around with my $25 ELM clone interface tonight and found the steering angle passive. I added it to my spreadsheet, though I only spent a moment making the XGAUGE so I have no idea about the scale.... I also might need to adjust what data it looks at since I only turned the wheel about 10 degrees to test it. (The car wasn't in READY mode.....) I will check it out on my drive to work tomorrow and adjust.
     
  4. astrand

    astrand PHEV Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    33
    12
    0
    Location:
    Linköping, Sweden
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    The steering angle code is the same as in Gen II. The CAN frame on the bus has the ID 0x025 on the bus (see http://mycanscan.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/mycanscan/trunk/doc/PriusCodes.xls). Although Scangauge ignores the lower 3 bits, I think it's more logical to use an TXD of 002D, just as Dan Bryant did.
     
  5. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    So it is! Are you holding out on us and know other passive's that work on the Gen III? ;-) [Besides speed]

    You're right about 002C; it was a typo in the spreadsheet -- fixed.

    I think I will hook up the scantool and go through his list and see if any others seem to up. His spreadsheet is the best way to keep an eye on what ID's are active and to help decipher them. I tried several others -- some were not changing and one I tried was updating at about 1fps and changed when I pushed the throttle. Did I write it down? Nope. LOL.
     
  6. astrand

    astrand PHEV Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    33
    12
    0
    Location:
    Linköping, Sweden
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    No. In fact, my tests indicates that the steering angle and speed are the only two known messages that are the same on Gen II and Gen III. There are 10 more that are the same, but these are unknown and probably not of interest.

    The challenge is to decode the "new" ~70 messages, or at least the most interesting ones...
     
  7. spiderman

    spiderman wretched

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    7,543
    1,542
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    A couple of good ones to look for could be the inverter coolant temp and if it exists, the traction battery temp.
     
  8. RAP

    RAP Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Congress AZ
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    It Works Verywell on my 04 Prius and moved it to my new 2010 Prius.I set it on RPM-MPG-TEMP-VOLT
     
  9. jashall

    jashall Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    ScanGaugeII is a lifesaver. I was going crazy with that reverse beep. Thank you PriusChat posters out there who published the codes.

    Last time I was at the dealer to get the oil changed, I asked them to remove the reverse beep (figuring it would only take a few minutes). Dealer was unaware the car needed to be hooked up to something to change the settings and asked that I make another appointment and come back. To top it off, my receipt does not show 0w20 (5w30 or something). They told me they put the right stuff in the car, but did a typo on the receipt. They did not correct the receipt or the toyota.com upload.

    Anyway, It was much better and faster to get this done myself with ScanGuage! After all that above, I would not want them to connect their computer to my car. At least there are 3 or 4 other dealers in the Portland area.
     
  10. tumbleweed

    tumbleweed Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    4,067
    686
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I think I would send an email to Toyota and let them know it needs to be corrected on their web site. Right now you have no evidence to indicate that the correct oil was used, if it was.
     
  11. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    More coming soon including inverter temps
     
    6 people like this.
  12. banshee08

    banshee08 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    284
    72
    0
    Location:
    El Monte, CA USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    adrianblack,

    Really appreciate the efforts. Very useful for PHEV conversions.

    Thanks,

    Chan
     
  13. astrand

    astrand PHEV Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    33
    12
    0
    Location:
    Linköping, Sweden
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Active or passive?
     
  14. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hey guys, thanks to an anonymous source who provided me with more RAW data and scaling, lots of new stuff completed today. :)

    Passive:
    - Added ICE RPM
    - To do: scaling for individual wheel speed

    Active:
    - Fixed: MG1/2 temps
    - Added outside temp (same as shown on your climate control)
    - Added MG1/MG2 inverter temps
    - Added DC-DC Converter temps, upper and lower
    - Added Calculated load (this matches the existing LOD gauge)
    - Added Vehicular load (not sure what this is actually)

    Please note if you want to display your temps in F instead of C, just replace the MTH on the gauge with 00090005FFD8. It shows this at the top of the spreadsheet...

    And a refresher link to the spreadsheet for anyone who is new to the thread:

    https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AiHL0r_2nhUEdF9lVVBxOVNoN3Zva3E0NmdZTUR1eVE&hl=en
     
    11 people like this.
  15. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Oh ya -- battery temps will probably be coming soon. The car doesn't use the normal one byte temperature for the various readings, so the scaling has to be figured out.
     
  16. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    No prob! How is your kit working out?
     
  17. tumbleweed

    tumbleweed Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    4,067
    686
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Thanks again Adrian, I'll try the new ones over the next few days inverter temps should be interesting with grill blocked and unblocked..

    Google spread sheet works good for this, first time I've used one.
     
  18. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    No problem. Glad to help.

    I love the Google Docs spreadsheet. It's no Excel -- but it does the job for simple stuff like this.... And the sharing and collaboration abilities kick nice person. I've moved a good number of my spreadsheets from Excel to it, like my Prius maintenance/fuel log. That way I can update it on any PC or ever my iPhone.
     
  19. banshee08

    banshee08 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    284
    72
    0
    Location:
    El Monte, CA USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    My kit is working fine after some balancing issues with the batteries. Now getting about 110mpg daily on a 70 mile commute. With the Xgauges now I can monitor the battery current and MG2 speeds for more fine tuning of my driving techniques. Much much appreciate you hard work.
     
  20. ksstathead

    ksstathead Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    1,244
    242
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Am I correct in saying no harm is done if you inadvertently display two x-gauges with the same TXD, but rather that one or both of them will not display or not display accurately while both are selected? If not, then merely scrolling through the gauges is problematic...
     
Loading...