ScanGaugeII work on 2010?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by taxachusetts, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. tumbleweed

    tumbleweed Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    4,067
    686
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Just go to the spread sheet page and click on FILE, but not the file in your browser, click on the file on the spread sheet itself. Then it will give you a "download as" menu. Select PDF and you can view or print it from an Acrobat reader or other .pdf viewer such as the one in Open Office as mentioned by Walterm.
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. tumbleweed

    tumbleweed Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    4,067
    686
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Looks like the ScanGauge only goes up to B7 so we'll have to go with plan B.
     
  3. exbauer

    exbauer Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    1,166
    80
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I just got my SGII and a new to it. I am interested in disabling the reverse beep and seat belt beep on the driver and passenger. I got the codes off this thread. But, I wanted to get a step by step on how to enter them. Do I just enter them in the code one by one and just send them? Or is there more to it than that? Do I leave the spaces or just have them all together? Thanks for any help.
     
  4. tumbleweed

    tumbleweed Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    4,067
    686
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    1. turn on the car
    2. push the red circled HOME button
    3. push MORE 3 times (MORE MORE MORE)
    4. push XGAUGES
    5. select an xgauge number to enter the data in, 1 throught 24
    6. push EDIT
    7. the first data to enter will be TXD, enter the TXD for Seat Belt Beep Disable (or which ever one you want) which is on the spread sheet https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AiHL0r_2nhUEdF9lVVBxOVNoN3Zva3E0NmdZTUR1eVE&hl=en
    8. push OK
    9. enter the data for RXF and push OK, enter data for RXD and push OK, enter data for MTH and push OK, enter a 3 letter name such as SBS (for Seat Belt Select) and push OK
    10. push SAVE
    11. push EDIT again and go through and check everything you just entered, be careful, remember you are entering data into the ECU
    12. if you change anything don't forget to push SAVE again
    13. push EXIT
    14. push gauges

    Now you are ready to enter the command that will disable the seat belt beeper.

    15. push one of the four white gauge select buttons repetedly to go through all of the default gauges, eventually (after about 15 pushes from the first gauge) you will come to your Xgauge command SBS. Leave it there for 2 or 3 seconds to send the data to the ECU
    16. push the white button again so it will quit sending data
    17. select what ever gauge you wish to view in that position
    18. make sure the seat belt beep is actually disabled
    19. since the seatbelt and reverse beep commands actually send data to the ECU you now need to disable them so they won't be selected by accident
    20. go back into the xgauge menu and select EDIT, TXD, and enter a blank character for the first digit (a blank not a 0) then hit OK until you are at SAVE again and save it This deletes the TXD but the rest of the data for that command is still there so if you need it again you can just reenter the TXD.

    Have fun

    BTW you do the actual Xgauge gauges the same way except, of course, you don't delete the TXD and you can call them up and use them the same way you do the default gauges.
     
  5. exbauer

    exbauer Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    1,166
    80
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks tumbleweed!
     
  6. ksstathead

    ksstathead Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    1,244
    242
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    21. Don't sweat it if it doesn't let you do this as described. Sometimes mine will refuse to let me proceed. But on a second attempt, usually no problem.

    Great tip on changing the txd, tumble.
     
  7. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    The XGAUGE spreadsheet is online with Google Docs. Just click the link and you'll be good.

    https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AiHL0r_2nhUEdF9lVVBxOVNoN3Zva3E0NmdZTUR1eVE&hl=en

    PS: Don't use IE 6 -- I don't think it work with it.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    2 people like this.
  9. tumbleweed

    tumbleweed Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    4,067
    686
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    1 person likes this.
  10. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    This will get you started with any ELM327 1.3 compatible device:

    1. Download and use "PUTTY" to connect to COM3 @ 38400 bps. (Check device manager for new COM port assignment for ELM327 device, it may be different for you.)
    2. Push enter when connected and you should see > which is the normal prompt. All commands on the ELM start with AT. When the command is accepted, you get a OK. If it does not understand the command, you will see a ?. Please note you cannot use backspace while entering a command as it will always give a ?.
    3. If you don't see the prompt, check your COM port setting, make sure you are 38400bps and lastly, type AT E1 (Echo on -- should already be set). Please note you MUST be connected to your laptop AND the car with it turned on for the ELM to respond at all.

    Enter the commands shown at 4-8 below:
    4. AT H1 (Headers on)
    5. AT L1 (Line feeds on)
    6. AT SP 6 (Set protocol to CAN 11bit/500kbps)
    7. AT DP (show you current protocol)
    8. AT CAF1 (enable auto formatting)

    Now, you need to tell the ELM which ECU you want to talk to:

    AT SH 07C0 (this tells the ELM you are wanting to talk to ECU 7C0, which is the combination meter.)
    Now, at the > prompt, type: 21 ac

    Should return 7c8 61 ac 00 if backup beep is enabled or last two digits will be 40 is set to one beep.

    At > prompt type 3b ac 40 to set single beep. You will see a couple responses including 7c8 7b ac which means it was set properly. Send the Query command above to see the new answerback.

    If you look at the SGII XGAUGE sheet, you can send those commands like this:

    TXD = 07E2217D
    1. So you type AT SH 7E2 to set the ECU ID to 7E2, which is the air conditioning ECU. (You drop the first 0)
    2. Now, you type in the command, which are the bytes that follow the ID -- so 217D in this case.
    3. The Car will return an answer where one byte shows what the actual power usage.
    4. Understanding the answer is more complicated since you often have to look at the right byte or bytes, and then apply math and conversions to it to get it into the right human readable format.
     
    4 people like this.
  11. tumbleweed

    tumbleweed Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    4,067
    686
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    OK thanks Adrian, I'll order the ELM327 and see if I can get it to work.
     
  12. linuxpenguin

    linuxpenguin Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    352
    182
    4
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Another tool out there is the CANdapter (Ewert Energy Systems). It's competitively priced with USB to CAN converters and operates similarly. It's not cheaper than the one you mentioned though (is that an old version of ELMSCAN? It looks like it's from the 80's :)).

    Andrew
     
  13. spiderman

    spiderman wretched

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    7,543
    1,552
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    This looks like TechStream Light Light. :D

    I almost went with TS Light but the cost was too high.

    With the ELM, can you you do scripting of sorts?
     
  14. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Bad news guys .. I just tested and my ELM 1.3 interface cannot communicate to the Main Body ECU. (Address 750.) It seems the Main Body ECU uses ISO 15765 with a 5-byte extension, and the ELM doesn't seem to like it.

    If I send a query, I get nothing back, etc.

    On the other hand, you can set the reverse beeper -- that setting is contained in the combination meter which uses normal CAN communication.

    I may try playing around with the custom protocol settings on the ELM to see if I can get Main Body Working ..... but for now, it's not.

    By the way, I need to update the instructions for those who buy the ELM interface. I left out a command.
     
    1 person likes this.
  15. walterm

    walterm Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    455
    202
    34
    Location:
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Perhaps ELM instructions could be added to the Knowledge Base section?

    Thanks for all your investigation on this, after all "information wants to be free".
     
  16. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    The ELM I bought has a more modern appearance but was $25 including shipping from China. As long as it has a ELM327 v1.3 chip inside, they are all essentially the same.
     
  17. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    1 person likes this.
  18. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,368
    971
    70
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Ah but a real ELM 327 costs $30 for the chip alone. If the device costs less than maybe $75, then it is probably using a clone that follows the genuine ELM command set. Just how well it does that varies. My $25 ELM style device works fine on the CAN bus, but I've totally failed to access anything on the ISO14230/KWP bus. One of the devices on the KWP bus is TPMS. Option setting on the GEN2 is on KWP.

    The Prius uses a 9600 baud KWP bus, while the standard defaults to 10400 baud. I think that difference is what my clone ELM can't handle on the Prius. It would be really useful if someone with access to a genuine ELM, and/or other ELM protocol devices could try connecting to the Toyota KWP bus. So far the only devices that I know work are the Denso unit that Toyota uses and the Drewtech Mongoose. Since KWP is an old standard, there must be other devices that work, but I just haven't found them.

    The programming interface to the ELM is character mode serial. As a minimum, you use an Ascii terminal program such as Hyperterminal (Windows freebie). There must be other terminal programs that can add scripting.
     
  19. adrianblack

    adrianblack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    447
    187
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Don't forget the tactrix OpenPort as compatible. :)

    It's very true, though, that ELM clone compatibility varies, probably greatly. I keep forgetting to test my $25 unit on KPW. I will try it tomorrow. I lucked out that I can run mine at 468000bps meaning I can dump the CAN bus in realtime without buffer problems.

    For scripting, PERL is probably the easiest laguage to do it in. I will give a spin as I used to write lots of scripts in it.
     
  20. SDM44

    SDM44 SeƱor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    199
    38
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    N/A
    I read through here but maybe I missed it.... but has anyone figured out the code for the automatic light control system? The default is 30 seconds, but I wanted to change it to 0 seconds, so the lights immediatetly turn off when I turn the car off.

    Also, anyone figure out the foot lights operation when vehicle is running? Default is On, but I would like them Off while driving.

    Thanks
     
Loading...