1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

School project.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by dukalev, Sep 14, 2008.

1. dukalev

dukalev New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Hello everyone!
    I am a Senior Electrical Engineer in college and I am interested in using a Prius to make a complete EV. The story is that I know a guy in a junk shop that has a smashed nhw11 Prius. The electric motor in the Prius is intact and so is everything else, except the frame. I also know a guy who has a Suzuki Samurai with a busted motor, but everything else works fine!
    So to keep it simple I want to make a transplant of the electric motor Prius to the Samurai. Why the Samurai? Because it is a box and has lots of room to work, and has battery space! My first project car was going to be a 1960 Jeep but it ended up having too much rust on it.
    I have two other mechanical engineers working with me for all the interconnects, but I need help on what I need to buy from the junk yard. Can I just buy the motor? Should I get the motor and controller? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    My other option would be to buy a dedicated DC motor from a company for the project, but the Prius motor only cost $500 so this is huge savings compared to a $2000 motor needed for the job.

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    There'll be others that can better and more specifically address the technical issues, but I don't think the motor in the Prius is going to meet the needs you're interested in unless you want just a low speed vehicle...further the controller issue could get pretty tricky.

p.s. Moving this to the technical forum.

3. Dozzer

Dozzer Prius Noob

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
  4. miscrms

miscrms Plug Envious Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius