1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Seriously considering Prius Prime

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by dulino, Nov 5, 2017.

1. dulino

dulino New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    all! Newbie here.

I️ currently drive a 2011 Subaru Legacy. My commute is 40 miles each way. My employer has chargers in the parking lot. I️ can get a discount on ezpass and HOV lanes if I️ trade it for Prius Prime.

NJ has mild winters and I️ work from home on snow days anyway. My concern with Prius Prime would be related to handling in wet conditions and keeping up with the traffic on the highway.

The other question I️ have is do I️ need an adapter for the parking lot charger? Are they standard?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

iPhone ?

RCO likes this.
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

if you are not happy with wet handling of the oem tyres, you may have to replace them. the car isn't a problem.
    chargers are standard, except for tesla proprietary charging, but the aren't likely in your parking lot.
    no problem keeping up with traffic, but take a test drive for yourself. it likely accelerates slower than your subie.
    currently $3,500. rebate on prime, all the best!(y)

RCO and dulino like this.
  3. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    You can always change the tires if you're not happy in the wet. I haven't had experience with the stock tires (I've only had non-plug-in Prii) but I remember the 2005 Prius had the crappiest stock tires I've ever experienced. They've gotten better.