1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Should I drive my'07 less with mileage over 100k?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by weixulu, Apr 7, 2015.

1. weixulu

weixulu Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm a graduate student and do not wish to replace my 07 within at least 2-3 years.

Right now a local businessman basically hired me as a limo service to drive his clients to and from Airports. The pay is well, consider the number of jobs I got.

Each job requires a trip ranging from 50-300 miles. I get 3-10 jobs/week in busy seasons and 2-3 in slow seasons.

My concern is that although I've read on this forum and elsewhere that a Prius could last for a longtime, I'm still worried that by doing this job for him, my car could die sooner than I get a real job after my PhD education.

By calculation, I'm expecting to see a 20k increase each year on the odometer, this means that perhaps in 2 years, I'll reach around 150k. This sounds frightening.

Wise people on this forum, please give me some advice, maybe not based on the handful cases of first gen Prius with 200k+ still running. Thanks!

2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    [This is Jimbo's theory, not a fact] The total mileage on taxis is high because they drive them nearly all the time. The battery seems to die when not driven. (or when driven uphill in the heat) I would drive and earn the money, perhaps for your down payment on a new(er) Prius when needed [/End of Jimbo's theory]

3. alekska

alekska Active Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Ha, I have 2005 with 162 000 as of now, and there is nothing frightening about it. I plan to keep it for another 2-3 years. If something breaks I will fix it. Nothing bad so far, and I'm in Atlanta (heat) which is supposed to be bad for HV battery