1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Should I replace the head gasket or sell

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Bgreen, Aug 20, 2021.

1. Bgreen

Bgreen New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    newbie here and not very well versed in car knowledge so bear with me.

2010 Prius 189k, no prior engine issues. Last oil change was 3-4k miles ago, less than 2 months ago. Running well, some shaking on startup sometimes.

About a month ago my engine coolant lamp came on, went on and off for a day or two before I decided to do something about it. I did a little research and found the coolant reservoir to be basically empty. I promptly went to the auto parts store, purchased some Zenex 50/50 antifreeze (which I have now been told was the correct stuff), and dumped probably a good 2/3 of the gallon in the reservoir before it was at the full line. I was good for a few weeks, checking the coolant regularly, and indeed saw it depleting suspiciously fast. After continuing refilling it until the rest of the gallon was gone I took it into the dealership crossing my fingers it was just a leak.

They did a pressure check, and found the head gasket leaking, coolant is burning and the engine oil is low. Forgive me if I butcher explaining the next part but basically they said something like most likely the coolant is mixing with oil, leading to issues including stripping the lubricants of the engine, which in turn leads to more coolant being used, thus the rapid coolant depletion. He recommended either head gasket replacement (3k) or an engine replacement (7k- which I’m not going to do).