1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Sirius in 2010 Prius Gen III version 2

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by DESigman, Aug 3, 2009.

1. DESigman

DESigman New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I'm new to this chat forum. Last week, I just bought a 2010 Toyota Prius Gen III Version 2 ie no SAT receiver, just SAT ready head unit. Since I have a lifetime subscription to Sirius, I want to add Sirius receiver that will also receive "Best of XM". Any suggestions or parts to buy. I also have been told that the Gen III comes with an antenna that receives both FM and XM Sat. Can an XM antenna be used with a Sirius receiver? I'm not a big fan of using a small Sirius Antenna next to an FM Antenna on top of the car. Any help or advise? Any instructions on subject matter?

Bottom line. I want to add Sirius w/ "Best of XM" receiver to a 2010 Prius Gen III Type 2 (basic Prius) head unit so that I can have steering wheel control, AM/SAT button without showing two antennas (one FM and one Sirius Sat)
    Thanks

So far I love my Prius. It just need Sirius with "Best of XM" so I can listen to sports

2. radiocycle

radiocycle Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Hope you get some replies DESigman, I'm sortof in the same bag. I'm subscribed to this thread.

radio

3. Hybrid Mersh

Hybrid Mersh Super Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Just picked up my 2010 on Saturday morning but I had a pretty nice Eclipse stereo system with iPod connector & Sirius receiver in my old car. Any chance the receiver & iPod connector could just be hooked up to the base-model factory radio? If not, will the wheel controls work with a standard slim car stereo, if it could be installed in the Prius dash? (I know zip about this stuff, if it's not obvious.)

4. eglmainz

eglmainz New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V