Smart Key Replacement Cost

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by geeter, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. ovni

    ovni Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    243
    90
    0
    Location:
    Sugar Land, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Key alone about $140

    Key and programming about $250-400!!!
     
  2. HGS

    HGS Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    307
    122
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I bought a new fob from Toyota online for $130. I programmed it to my car myself.
     
  3. ovni

    ovni Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    243
    90
    0
    Location:
    Sugar Land, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    V
    More info would help people.... 130, plus key cut? plus software/hardware?
     
  4. fopoku2k2

    fopoku2k2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    292
    58
    1
    Location:
    Columbus - Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    would you be kind enough to run us through the programming??
     
  5. Redpoint5

    Redpoint5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    1,024
    501
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    The "programming" is done through Techstream software and a miniVCI cable connected to a PC. You should own a miniVCI cable and TechStream regardless because you can change many things about how the car behaves such as disabling the continuous rear beep and seat belt chimes.

    You can purchase a miniVCI adapter on Amazon for $18 and it will come with the TechStream software.

    Install the software in a 32 bit Windows environment.

    Plug the USB end of the miniVCI adapter into a computer and the other end into the OBDII port on the Prius (Below the steering wheel where the plastic ends, just like most every car.

    Turn the Prius on.

    Disconnect the PC from the internet and then run the TechStream program.

    Follow through the menu to add the new key. It has instructions on what to do built into the software.

    Read through this post because you may need to modify a file if you get an error.
     
  6. fopoku2k2

    fopoku2k2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    292
    58
    1
    Location:
    Columbus - Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Do I need to have a TechStream active subscription in other to program this?

    XT1060 ?
     
  7. Redpoint5

    Redpoint5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    1,024
    501
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    No, which is why you disconnect your PC from the internet connection before starting the TechStream software. It tries to authenticate the subscription if you have an internet connection, but allows you to run the program if you don't.
     
  8. fopoku2k2

    fopoku2k2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    292
    58
    1
    Location:
    Columbus - Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Ooh OK. Cooool!!!!

    XT1060 ?
     
  9. 23stks

    23stks New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I just bought a replacement remote for my 2015 Prius II online at the ReplaceMyRemote website.

    I was going to take to a local auto locksmith to program it for me but just came across your post; would I be able to do this at home then with your method? I consider myself pretty tech savvy; just wanted to double check.

    Thanks!
     
  10. 3prongpaul

    3prongpaul Hybrid Shop Owner, worked on 100's of Prius's

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    943
    700
    1
    Location:
    Boulder Hybids, Boulder, CO
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    If you have Techstream/MiniVCI you can program new (or virginized) fobs yourself.
    If they are used FOBs you need a passcode calculated and "seed reset", much trickier.

    When you install techstream, find file IT3System.ini and change TISFunction = 1 to TISFunction = 0
    Then it won't check for network or try to authenticate software
    The ini file is often located here; C: Program Files \ Diagnostics Toyota \ Techstream \ Env \
     
    23stks likes this.
  11. Redpoint5

    Redpoint5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    1,024
    501
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I couldn't get Techstream to run on a 64 bit OS, which is what most computers come with nowadays. Instead, I used my wife's old laptop which had 32 bit Windows 7 installed.

    I'm not sure how to get Techstream to work on 64 bit. Perhaps it can be run in a 32 bit VM.
     
  12. dorunron

    dorunron Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    3,318
    1,090
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Try running it as the administrator in Windows 64 bit and run at 32 bit VM. That should do it. I don't have the software, but I am a geek. Good luck.
     
  13. 23stks

    23stks New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Can't seem to program my new smart remote for my 2015 Prius; I'm running the latest Techstream software on a Windows 32bit laptop with XP. I got my remote from ReplaceMyRemote online and they said it was new.

    I went thru the whole smart key registration process (touch registered key, touch new key, never having both keys in car at same time) but at the end it says registration failed. What could be some possible reasons?
     
  14. Onex Prius

    Onex Prius Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    14
    7
    0
    Location:
    Puget Sound WA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Your new key is not NEW!! It been programmed before. The key may look new but it actually not.

    That's the only reason your key registration failed. Contact the seller and return it. Look on ebay for seller that state New key never been programmed.

    Good luck
     
    23stks likes this.
  15. ovni

    ovni Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    243
    90
    0
    Location:
    Sugar Land, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I agree...Look on ebay for NEW(from online toyota dealers) or look for sellers selling "Virgin" keys.
     
    23stks likes this.
  16. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,368
    970
    70
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    One possibility is that the car requires an AAB remote. Most remotes sold "for 2010-2015 Prius" are ACX.
     
  17. ovni

    ovni Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    243
    90
    0
    Location:
    Sugar Land, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Have never seen AAB on a 2015. None of my key shops have reported that either. All aab reports have come from 11 and 12 only.
     
    23stks likes this.
  18. BobcPDX

    BobcPDX Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    10
    6
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Ovni, are you now selling remanufactured fobs on Ebay? It looks like you, and it looks like you've learned how to reset the keys so that they act like brand new keys? Way to go! I'll be a customer right away - bought a 2010 that only came with a single SKS fob. Ugh! Got paranoia? Hoping to make a couple spares, pronto!
    Thank you for your contributions!!!
    Bob
     
  19. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    95,376
    43,242
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    is it the same pic as his avatar?:p
     
  20. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sand Pounder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    46,051
    32,895
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
Loading...