1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Smartkey and Keyless entry not working

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Cesli, Feb 21, 2019.

1. Cesli

Cesli New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    hey y’all, I’m having an issue with my smartkey fob. When I bought the car it was the only thing that didn’t work. Thinking it was a minor issue I assumed I’d just get a new one as the one that came with the car looked like it’d been ran over by a lawn mower! So I went to the dealership and had them order a new one as it wasn’t the battery it appeared it was the fob itself. They then attempted to program the new key to my car, they got the key fob programmed however they couldn’t get the car to “accept it” for lack of a better word, I’m not very tech savvy. I’ve tried unhooking the cranking battery as well as checking for diagnostic codes, no luck, no codes. There is also one other thing that is going wrong I might should add, the fuel gauge blinks to a two count. Pretty annoying as I never know if my last pip is blinking bc my whole dang gauge blinks. It’ll stay on steady when I first turn the car on but then after a few seconds it’ll start blinking. I don’t know if that has anything to do with my other problem but I thought I would mention it. If anyone has any solutions or suggestions they would be greatly appreciated thanks!

2. dolj

dolj Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi Cesli and welcome to PriusChat.

The first thing is to make sure your 12 V battery is in good order. This will involve getting it load tested and replaced if it is showing any signs of being bad. The dealer should have done this when they were having problems, but who knows? You can get your 12 V checked by an auto parts store, if you can't or don't know how to do this yourself, or you don't have anyone you can call on to help do this for you.