Smartkey Seed/Passcode calculation service

Discussion in 'Knowledge Base Articles Discussion' started by 3prongpaul, Sep 29, 2011.

  1. 3prongpaul

    3prongpaul Hybrid Shop Owner, worked on 100's of Prius's

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    922
    660
    1
    Location:
    Boulder Hybids, Boulder, CO
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You may have read that it is impossible to mate a used Smartkey fob (i.e. "Ebay fob") with your Prius and have full Smart Key functionality unless you take it to the dealer or locksmith.

    If you have access to Techstream software along with an appropriate interface like the $500 Mongoose MFC cable, you can do it yourself by paying an online service to calculate the one-time passcode from the seed that Techstream supplies.

    Calculation of Passcode for Toyota, Lexus, Scion vehicles - Service

    The place is in Europe (Lithuania). They charge 20 Euros for each
    passcode calculated (around $28) They are open USA morning business hours and do it via PayPal/email within a few minutes. Easy peasy if you only need to do it once in a while.

    If you have to calculate seeds regularly, (i.e. you're a locksmith) they will sell you the software for 800 Euros which works on many makes and models of cars.
     
    3 people like this.
  2. AbuS3ood

    AbuS3ood Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    113
    4
    0
    Location:
    Jordan
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III

    Here is a cheap calculator for the one want to do business from that...its only for 375$ working and tested
    eBay link
     
  3. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    83,756
    36,651
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
  4. Esodprius

    Esodprius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I just lost my only original fob key(no spare keys) for my 2005 prius and just received the bought new 2 fob keys and a manual key from Amazon plus the mini techstream vci which I have zero knowledge what it is and all new to me . Is the passcode access the last thing I need to brave and start programming these bought fob keys or is it easier to bring to Prius shop I called and can do all these for $150 (after I get my car towed to his shop). Thank you all for any detailed instructions I may need from here.
     
  5. 3prongpaul

    3prongpaul Hybrid Shop Owner, worked on 100's of Prius's

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    922
    660
    1
    Location:
    Boulder Hybids, Boulder, CO
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    SFO likes this.
  6. Esodprius

    Esodprius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thank you for the response ! I went with the easiest route and have the expert , Mr. Andre do the fob key, that he brought with him, get programmed ! He came and spent 30 minutes with the computer to get my Prius back to its drive. I will keep the link for future reference .
     
  7. Figster10

    Figster10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    128
    29
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I bought the new seed and watched the video on how to get the passcode. My question for you is what next? What do I do with the passcode? How do I program the second key now?
    Note: My techstream doesn’t have a “utility” button
     
  8. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    4,196
    2,935
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    You won't see "Utility" until you go into the correct computer section.

    Hopefully whatever video you are using shows you the full procedure.
     
  9. Figster10

    Figster10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    128
    29
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I’m being told I will need to upgrade to a better mvci cable. I am trying to program a used fob with a new purchased passcode but I have no utility button to begin the process
     
  10. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    4,196
    2,935
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    From the main System Selection Screen you should have a list of modules all highlighted in yellow.

    Post a pic of that.

    I think the correct section is called something like Smart Key. I don't remember exactly. I'm doing this from memory.

    Again, post a pic.
     
  11. Figster10

    Figster10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    128
    29
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I will post in the next 10 mins.
     
  12. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    4,196
    2,935
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Maybe the section is called Immobiliser?
    When you are on the main screen you should be able to go over each section and see a description of it in the box below the menu.
     
  13. Figster10

    Figster10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    128
    29
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have entered the immobilizer screen and still no utility button.
     
  14. Figster10

    Figster10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    128
    29
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    This is what I get when I enter smart key and inmobilizer. I notice other videos being able to have this “utility” button to begin adding a key but I am unable to have it on here on the left
     

    Attached Files:

  15. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    4,196
    2,935
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Does your software connect to the car so you can see live data?

    Have you used this for other diagnostic on the Prius?
     
  16. Figster10

    Figster10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    128
    29
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    This is a cable test that showed fails for SIL and a programming link for both pins as shown here. My guess is I need to upgrade to a better cable, right?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    9,273
    12,547
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Get an older version of Techstream ;).

    V10.30.028 works well for us as we had a much newer version (version 13.xx. 024) and it didn’t have the same functionality :cool:.

    Something else to try and see if that helps(y).
     
    Figster10 and SFO like this.
  18. Figster10

    Figster10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    128
    29
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yes sir
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  19. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    9,273
    12,547
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    With version 10.30.028 I’ve paired several keys to Gen3’s, paired TPMS sensors ,etc.;).

    Good luck and keep us posted (y).
     
  20. Figster10

    Figster10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    128
    29
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    That’s the other thing I noticed over the weekend how I couldn’t pair the TPMS sensors either. Clearly I’m off by a mark or something but will do what you told of me this late evening.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - Smartkey Seed Passcode
  1. drmanny3
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    3,459