1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Snow coming to MN. Large Hill and question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Tammyvoje, Dec 1, 2013.

1. Tammyvoje

Tammyvoje Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I am new to my 2008 Prius. I drive a hour to work in open country and I am a safe winter driver. There is one large(steep) hill that concerns me. I hear about traction control shutting off if it starts to slip?
    Should I use B for the hill if so can I switch when going at 40 mpg or what speed. Please help. I am nervous about this situation..

Tammy :(

2. edthefox5

edthefox5 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    B is for engine braking when going down a long steep hill so not to overheat the brakes. The engine will race and put a back force on the car. Don't use it uphill just downhill.

And yes TC is a pain going up a steep slippery hill. My car has never seen snow so will allow many more experienced snow drivers to come along soon and help you with some tips.

Good Luck!

Tammyvoje likes this.
  3. css28

css28 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Since you've driven in snow before just try to use your common sense (focus on the overall distance get a mild running start if possible and try not to slow or stop unnecessarily mid-hill).

The "B" selection is not something that you want to use in slippery conditions and doesn't help when ascending anyhow.

I think the most common problem people have had with Gen II traction control is with very slow speed climbs (like driveways, etc.).

4. Tammyvoje

Tammyvoje Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Will the traction kick out the engine ?
    If so what do I do than?