1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

So I towed a trailer with my Prius!

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by PriumCamper, Jun 18, 2019.

1. PriumCamper

PriumCamper New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hello all,

My first post but I have been hanging around for a few years reading up on the Prius and more recently towing with it. We have been tent camping for the last 6 years but only using the Prius for the last 3. Been trying to cut down on weight and large items with various degrees of success. But in the end we were running about 900-950# fully loaded with passengers. and it was always a Tetris game to get it to fit. Plus the back springs were so low I was worried (had the firestone airbags the last 2 years but the tubes recently broke). So I thought trailer. I read pretty much all the posts on here and many elsewhere. Bought the Harbor Freight 1195lb trailer, modified it for my use and voila! Did a 260 mile round trip on mostly interstate. Kept at 60 or below. Checked the freshly greased hubs a few times. Nice and cool. I would say the trailer weighed all in just over 1000lbs. Had a 105lb tongue weight on a Curt hitch and 5" riser from e-trailer. Car ran great, no real issues. It felt stable at speed and handled uphills just fine. Also returned a 39.5mpg. Last year with the roof rack and bike rack I was getting 26-32mpg (admittedly going 70-75mph). Will probably use it 2-3 more times to camp. Otherwise just a few local errands to the stores. Oh and currently at 118,000 miles and had changed the tranny fluid about around 80k miles. Its a 2012 BTW.

Thanks to all here with you previous posts that helped me along the way.

Charles

IMG_20190617_113052776.jpg IMG_20190617_113042835_HDR.jpg IMG_20190615_133728583.jpg

2. jb in NE

jb in NE Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    That's a lot of camping gear!