special no READY indicator

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Lib, Jul 26, 2019.

  1. Lib

    Lib New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    15
    2
    0
    Location:
    Zambia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    l have similar problem with my prius 05. 3 months ago, after replacing 12v battery one day Red triangle lit,thinking its gas about to run out rushed to station and topped 5 liters continued driving and parked at the market .After shopping tried to start no READY .so towed car home while in neutral . tried to jump start no READY. after parking it for a month l had 12v battery charged with a charger,tried to start no READY started scanning with elm327 (no GTOs, 2 incomplete Readiness mornitors catalyst and oxygen sensor) the battery went flat,jump start to my surprise READY.
    After driving for some days run out of gas drove car on electricity until HV battery bars on screen finished, no READY .Added 3 liters and jump start, no READY .towed it home in neutral .added 10 liters more scanned ,connected bigger battery from another car(reading 13V),no READY .Tried the following
    1.check fuses OK
    2.connected directly to fuel pump OK
    3.shorted brake light switch No READY
    car turns ON and able to on park and neutral only NO READY
    4 the switches on the HV battery are closed all the time when trying to start the car
    5.Also no power to the fuel pump
     
  2. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    6,358
    2,665
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    If there's a red triangle there are error codes, but it seems your device is not finding those codes. Maybe a bad device, or maybe a bad app. Try again with Dr. Prius app or use Toyota Techstream software via a mini-VCI. Also not sure in your country, but usually auto parts stores have the ability to read the error codes for free.
     
    SFO likes this.
  3. Lib

    Lib New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    15
    2
    0
    Location:
    Zambia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Dr prius failing to connect .Before l find an autoshop with a powerful scanner. what is the start sequence for a prius?That can guide on what to check next
     
  4. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    6,358
    2,665
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Sometimes if you reboot your phone it will work... Also make sure you manually turn on bluetooth before opening the app, because security features on most phones over-react to an app turning on bluetooth on their own. If that doesn't work read thru this: Hybrid battery diagnostic and repair tool for Toyota and Lexus
     
  5. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,432
    4,713
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    After driving for some days run out of gas drove car on electricity until HV battery bars on screen finished,

    I think this is a good clue as to what is going on

    Since the HV battery is what spins the engine to start it, and it's apparently been depleted...maybe the codes that are generated are related to that. Like mentioned, they first need to be read to see what they really are.
     
  6. Lib

    Lib New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    15
    2
    0
    Location:
    Zambia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    am using the wifi obdll .error is "failed to connect to /192/168.0.10 port 3500".Apps like HOBDrive,MotorData Hybrid and OBD Auto Doctor does connect but doesn't read the error code.
     
  7. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,732
    42,957
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    start sequence: foot on brake, make sure brake lights come on, fob in range, press power button once, don't jab it, car should make ready.
     
  8. Lib

    Lib New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    15
    2
    0
    Location:
    Zambia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks,what about the ECU,what does it check before turning ON the READY indicator ?
     
  9. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    4,223
    3,879
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Not sure about using a wifi adapter, but see if you can get Torque (android) loaded and working.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  10. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,732
    42,957
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    no idea, i would think it is in the service manual, but i'm not sure. there are too many computers in prius to know what they all do and the 'handshake protocols' they have to go through.
     
  11. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    9,413
    4,410
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    OBD code decipher is critical.

    I think you killed the hybrid battery sometimes driving on it till it drives no more will expose a soft battery module that module or more die and the battery ecu detects it and will not allow you to start the car.All the modules must be in good shape or the car will not start.

    Countless posts on here over the years of people driving on the hybrid battery only after running out of gas. You dont go far. They all ended up on the side of the road with a dead car. Used to have to special order a 200 volt charger from japan but now you have the Prolong system alot of us have to charge up our hybrid battery.

    Concentrate on the hybrid battery parameters when you get techstream.

    Also if you have the car icon showing on the top left of the mfd screen its almost 100% its the hybid battery.
     
    Skibob and jerrymildred like this.
  12. Lib

    Lib New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    15
    2
    0
    Location:
    Zambia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It is usually Green now its red with "!"Thanks for the heads up
     
  13. Lib

    Lib New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    15
    2
    0
    Location:
    Zambia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Scanned with LAUNCH and got these codes P0aa4,P0aa1,P3030,P0a0d,P3000,C1241,C1242,C1249,C1259,C1310,C1313,C1353,C1354,C1377,C1378,B1800,B1801,B1810,B1811,B1421,B1433,B1200,B1269,B1271.l later discovered that the Switch on main relay/HV battery was swinged IN but the handle not pressed/locked down .l press down and started the car Wala! Ready came ON and engine run.l scanned while engine was running only three fault codes remains P3000,C1259 and C1310.
     
    bisco likes this.
  14. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    6,358
    2,665
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    clear those last 3 codes and wait to see if they come back...
     
  15. Lib

    Lib New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    15
    2
    0
    Location:
    Zambia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    l cleared before getting it into ready mode but came back

    l assume this are codes present when l had it in ready mode last time.Noticed a change ,the was powerless in EV mode
     
    #15 Lib, Sep 28, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2019
  16. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,793
    3,093
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    With those DTCs, there should be other DTCs set by the HV system ECU(s). With what are you now reading the codes? Maybe it is not up the job?
     
  17. Lib

    Lib New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    15
    2
    0
    Location:
    Zambia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    was using LAUNCH Launch Tech USA – Create Change
     
  18. Lib

    Lib New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2019
    15
    2
    0
    Location:
    Zambia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Scanned again and am getting P3030,P3000
     
  19. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    4,223
    3,879
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Here is the workup for DTC P3030 : https://attachments.priuschat.com/attachment-files/2019/09/174200_DTC_P3030.pdf

    DTC P3000 has a hand full of various INFs (aka secondary codes, detail codes, etc), and you may need something like techstream to retrieve which INF is related to the current DTC P3000. Knowing the secondary codes can help with diagnosing and potentially fixing the problem in a timely fashion.

    Here is the workup for DTC P3000 with INFs 123,125, 603 : https://share.qclt.com/%E4%B8%B0%E7%94%B0%E6%99%AE%E7%91%9E%E6%96%AF%E5%8E%9F%E5%8E%82%E8%8B%B1%E6%96%87%E6%89%8B%E5%86%8Cpdf%E6%A0%BC%E5%BC%8F/Repair%20Manual/04pruisr/05/21bpm/3000123.pdf

    Here is the workup for DTC P3000 with INF 388 : https://share.qclt.com/%E4%B8%B0%E7%94%B0%E6%99%AE%E7%91%9E%E6%96%AF%E5%8E%9F%E5%8E%82%E8%8B%B1%E6%96%87%E6%89%8B%E5%86%8Cpdf%E6%A0%BC%E5%BC%8F/Repair%20Manual/04pruisr/05/21bpm/3000388.pdf

    Here is the workup for DTC P3000 with INF 389 : https://share.qclt.com/%E4%B8%B0%E7%94%B0%E6%99%AE%E7%91%9E%E6%96%AF%E5%8E%9F%E5%8E%82%E8%8B%B1%E6%96%87%E6%89%8B%E5%86%8Cpdf%E6%A0%BC%E5%BC%8F/Repair%20Manual/04pruisr/05/21bpm/3000389.pdf
     
Loading...