Speed Limit Indicator in the Navigation?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by TonyPSchaefer, Mar 1, 2016.

  1. TonyPSchaefer

    TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    14,810
    2,468
    65
    Location:
    Far-North Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    When I test drove the Gen4, I had a Two with no navigation. I am currently test driving an Avalon and it's fully loaded. One thing I like about its navigation is that there's a speed limit sign indicating the current posted speed limit wherever I am.

    Does the Gen4 Prius have this? Can it be turned off/on?
     
    Mo2thetown likes this.
  2. Zojja

    Zojja Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    275
    125
    1
    Location:
    DC area
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I haven't looked at it on the navigation screen but mine shows the speed limit on the info screens. It shows me the compass, street I'm on and speed limit.
     
    Coast Cruiser likes this.
  3. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    88,765
    39,690
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    really? that's pretty sweet! can you get a pic?
     
  4. fotomoto

    fotomoto Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    5,064
    3,342
    0
    Location:
    So. Texas
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    My wife's subie has it and the speed limit sign changes color to red if you going faster than that.
     
    Coast Cruiser likes this.
  5. krmcg

    krmcg Lowered Blizzard Pearl Beauty

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    2,492
    2,284
    0
    Location:
    Whittier, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Yes. The speed limit signs are in the Heads Up Display. I think they must be map based, because they are wrong 10% of the time (or so)
     
  6. Mike Johnson

    Mike Johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    3
    2
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    We traded in our 05 Prius (170000+ miles) for a 2016 Prius 3. When I first drove the Prius home we could see the local speed limit sign in the HUD and on the dash next to the compass. Now that little speed sign is gone and for the life of me I can not figure out how to program it back in. We have been through the manual several times and could not find a solution. Hopefully someone here can help. Love our new Prius! Thanks!!
     
    krmcg likes this.
  7. Zojja

    Zojja Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    275
    125
    1
    Location:
    DC area
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    have you tried scrolling through the screens using right/left buttons on the right side of the steering wheel? If that doesn't work, you might have to try up/down after left/right.
     
    krmcg likes this.
  8. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    13,719
    7,316
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Just like my Garmins. They are clearly map based, requiring an occasional database update.
    That suggests a really old database. My Garmins have never been that far behind.
     
  9. pakitt

    pakitt Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    1,919
    1,137
    0
    Location:
    None
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I have test driven yesterday a 4 with the speed sign recognition - it is not map based at all - it reads them from the camera behind the center rearview mirror - why I can say that with certainty? because it has read the 25km/h limit *inside the company underground* garage where I parked it.....I have noticed it will not get a sign if there is pole or something in front of it from a distance. It tries to read them from "afar" and not last minute.
    The indication of the speed limit in the HUD depends on how many times you cycle through the possible viewing options of the HUD by pressing the button multiple times, and in the MID you need to go with the left/right arrows into the settings pane (indicated by a gear) and scroll down to "meter customize" settings - see page 142 of the USA user's manual.
     
  10. David Beale

    David Beale Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    5,963
    1,947
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    I suspect the ability to use the camera depends on whether your car actually -has- the camera. You can have nav. but no camera in the option package. Maybe the 3 doesn't have the camera as your 4 does.
     
  11. Zojja

    Zojja Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    275
    125
    1
    Location:
    DC area
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I am guessing it uses both? Because if I turn on a street, I immediately get the speed limit, before I see a speed limit sign.
     
  12. krmcg

    krmcg Lowered Blizzard Pearl Beauty

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    2,492
    2,284
    0
    Location:
    Whittier, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    And if it is "reading" signs, how can the car possibly disagree with the posted sign?
     
  13. pakitt

    pakitt Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    1,919
    1,137
    0
    Location:
    None
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    If one has speed limit signs recognition it has a camera and it does image recognition which is certainly faster than any human eye distracted by a ton of other things, including driving ;) yes, it can be faster than you and "see" it before you do.

    So even if it seems that it has some database, it is really doing image recognition to tell you what it is actually seeing in front of the car.

    And yes, it might not be 100% accurate because of problems with lighting, obstacles, weather, etc. it still does a great job getting 90% of them right. Which is what most drivers don't ;) (and hence end up speeding :D )

    The system is not based on a database of sorts, related to navigation because the Prius I tried yesterday didn't have navigation. And it would be less and less accurate over time, without any reliable and regular update.
     
  14. royrose

    royrose Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    999
    611
    4
    Location:
    Foot of Pikes Peak
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I believe that I read somewhere that street sign recognition is a feature of European models but is not in the U.S. models, perhaps because of some regulation or variability of signs from state to state.
     
    krmcg likes this.
  15. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    88,765
    39,690
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i agree that toyota nag maps are quite old. especially when in a new purchase. i wouldn't be surprised if updates are still a few years old.
     
  16. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web i3 and Prime

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    23,454
    13,224
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL with 2014 BMW i3-REx
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Does the navigation unit report GPS speed and distance to cross check against the tripmeter, odometer, and speedometer?

    Bob Wilson
     
  17. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    41,085
    12,640
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    There are two types of systems:

    In Europe, there's "road sign assist" as a feature. This is what @pakitt is describing. A camera reads the speed limit sign and displays it.

    In the US, the speed limit sign is map-based. It is simply reading information off the navigation map. There is no speed limit support in Canada. (Weird, my TomTom has had speed limit info for a while now and Denso is using the same map database as TomTom starting a few years back).
     
    pakitt and krmcg like this.
  18. Zojja

    Zojja Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    275
    125
    1
    Location:
    DC area
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    speed.jpg So here is the pic. It may not be the best because I was trying to take it quick at a stopped light.
     
    pjm877, pakitt and bisco like this.
  19. Trollbait

    Trollbait It's a D&D thing

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    15,124
    6,881
    0
    Location:
    eastern Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Off topic and misread, but that is a perfect description of some talking GPS systems.
     
    bisco likes this.
  20. David Beale

    David Beale Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    5,963
    1,947
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    My Garmin Montana (in the FJ Cruiser) displays speed limits and the indication turns red when I'm over. In Canada. That's in the Nav tech database that Garmin uses. AND it beacons over amateur radio my APRS position and speed. So I don't speed.
    Pearl S uses a Kenwood D710G and beacons my position and speed over APRS. So I also don't speed in that car.

    Depending on your definition of speeding, of course. ;)
     
Loading...