Speedometer from KPH to MPH

Discussion in 'International Owners' started by Prius_SGP, Sep 13, 2008.

  1. Prius_SGP

    Prius_SGP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    58
    2
    0
    Location:
    Saint Genis Pouilly, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Hi

    Does anyone know if the EU spec Prius lets you change the speedometer from miles-Km and vice-versa??:confused:


    According to the manual on the 2008 model the button to the right of the odo button (on LHD versions left on RHD?) changes the dash intensity and it should also change the speedometer from KM to Miles and vice versa.

    I know that on the US version this button actually has the mph/kph legend on it as well but from what I can understand from the manual (French manual, I'm english) this should also work with the version with out this legend.

    Any ideas? I'm going back to the dealers in a few weeks so can wait until then to check with the dealer, just in case they need to activate this function.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. TonyPSchaefer

    TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    14,814
    2,477
    66
    Location:
    Far-North Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    If you are insinuating that a button exists but does not have "KMH/MPH" written on it, then I can think of one sure-fire way of finding out what that button does.

    But if you are saying that the button doesn't exist then you might need to take it to the dealer.
     
  3. Prius_SGP

    Prius_SGP New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    58
    2
    0
    Location:
    Saint Genis Pouilly, France
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Hi Tony,

    What I'm trying to say is that the button exists. It has an image of a speedometer on it. See attached picture.

    With the lights on pressing this button changes the intensity of the dash display through one of 3 presets.

    In the manual this is one of the functions of this button. The other says that if you hold it down for 3 seconds you can change the speedometer display from KM to Miles and vice versa.

    Hope that this clarifies the problem a little.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Lloyd9

    Lloyd9 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    88
    6
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have made similar requests within the chats with no success. I beleive the button you refer to has a dual purpose. 1) to dim dash board lights, 2) change Speedometer from MPH to KPH. However I have not been able to find a method to change the Odometer from miles to KMs. I imported our 08 Prius from Arizona to British Columbia and have been looking for a way to change ever since. Speedometer is in KM's, NAV and GPS is in KM's, but milage and corresponding gas milage MPG is in Miles/Gallons rather than L/100KM.
    If you find a method to change Odometer, please post.
     
  5. TonyPSchaefer

    TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    14,814
    2,477
    66
    Location:
    Far-North Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Wow, I'm not I remember ever seeing that one before. Well, it's officially out of my league.
     
  6. biggus

    biggus Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    55
    0
    3
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    On my european one if you hold it down for about ten seconds it toggles from mph to kph or vice versa
     
  7. halpos4

    halpos4 "Taxi"!

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    377
    23
    5
    Location:
    Ireland
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Hi there,
    I have a 2006 and it won't allow me to change from KPH to MPH,I know someone with a 2004 who can,
    I asked the dealer about this and they said since we[in Ireland]changed to KPH,that feature has been locked in KPH mode which is a bit stupid really because the UK is only a car ferry ride away and they still use MPH and the Prius unlike many other cars doesn't have the dual dials in dash display.
     
  8. EtN

    EtN Irish-Italian Hybrid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    35
    0
    1
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius

    I have an Irish 2007 Prius with the same problem. It won't take anything but km/h by default, I'm afraid. I find it unbelievable as not only is the UK a short ferry ride away, but in Northern Ireland they use miles as well.
    Long story short, I've had to add a converter (SpeedM8) and pass an SVA test. In real life, I just use KM/H and only toggle to miles when I'm unsure about the miles equivalent. Bother.

    P.s.: UK cars get the km/h option instead. Bother again :)

    Tony
     
  9. birnando

    birnando Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    21
    1
    0
    Location:
    oslo, Norway
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    On my norwegian model (2009) this button only change illumination when depressed for 3 seconds. Short presses scales the light in 3(?) steps, from full to very dim.
    The reason for this is that the Headlamps is not possible to turn off while the system is on.
    Norwegian law states that you have to drive with the lights turned on 24/7.
    When holding it down you can get the brightest light possible on the MFD and the speedo, when needed while driving in daylight.
     
  10. EtN

    EtN Irish-Italian Hybrid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    35
    0
    1
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    The 2007 Irish one does exactly the same as the Norwegian one, even if the lights are not always on.
     
  11. patsparks

    patsparks An Aussie perspective

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    10,664
    562
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide South Australia
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Write to the UK government and ask them to bite the bullet, stop sitting on their hands and change the bloody speed limit signs. Isn't it about time the UK went metric? They sell litres of fuel, kilos of goods, why not kilometres per hour on speed signs and kilometres on distance signs? Australia has one third the population and lots of roads, we did it so why can't the UK?
     
  12. EtN

    EtN Irish-Italian Hybrid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    35
    0
    1
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
  13. Mike Dimmick

    Mike Dimmick Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    963
    244
    0
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Metrication started in the UK before we joined the EEC. Unfortunately it's become tainted by anti-European sentiment.

    There is nothing wrong with selling bananas by the pound - a customer can ask for any amount they want, and 454g is an acceptable amount, if difficult to weigh accurately. What is wrong is displaying prices per pound, where all other traders are pricing per kilogram - the reason that there are standardised measures is so customers can compare prices. To verify that the trader is not giving incorrect measure, their scales must be marked in grams, not in pounds and ounces.

    The signs on British roads are actually erected at round numbers of metres - the 'yard' is inaccurate. 'Mile' posts are erected at 1600 metre intervals. Source: UKMA - Road contractors.