1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Splash shield replacement - newbie, pl help

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by rparimala, Jun 26, 2012.

1. rparimala

rparimala New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I'm a newbie to the forum and don't know much about cars. Leased a Prius in May 2010 and it's still under the 3yr-36k warranty. Couple of days back while driving on the highway I heard a scraping sound. Had to drive home and looked underneath to find a panel dropping on the floor near the front of the vehicle. I swear I didn't hit anything.

Took it to the dealer who said that I must have hit something and the spalsh shield was ripped and needs to be replaced. Quoted $320.28. As I didn't want to spend that much I asked if there was a temporary fix. He said they would fix it but I had to get the splash shield replaced soon. I also asked if this was required and he said it was important as it covered the engine?

I have never been to another dealer or mechanic and this is the place I always go to. Leased the car from this dealer too and the oil change every 6 months so far have been free since Toyota was offering free maintenance for 3 yrs at the time I signed up.

Please take a look at the pics and tell me if I have to get this replaced. If I don't, will they charge me when I return the leased vehicle next year? Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

2. spiderman

spiderman wretched

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    They are being disingenuous. There is a service bulletin out there that replacing this part for free under warrenty. Please print it out and take it back to the dealer and tell them to fix it.

I will post the link to the document soon.

[edit] T-SB document here.

TsKarma likes this.
  3. rparimala

rparimala New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II