1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Steering wheel clunk/looseness

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Autmsky, Oct 20, 2009.

1. Autmsky

Autmsky New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    This is my first time in the forum. I have a 2006 Version 6 with 71,000 miles. I bought it 6 weeks ago with 68,000. I notice everytime I make a lateral pull on the steering wheel, I feel a clunk in the steering column like there is some movement there. This is a common move for me as I use the steering wheel as an assist out of the car. I can also feel this clunk at times on slow parking moves. I've seen the bulletins about loose/defective intermediate steering shafts as well as loose bolts there. All that is good and tight. I took it to the dealer who verified my concern, but in the end said they found nothing wrong. Is it normal for the power steering motor/module to have some looseness? This is my first Prius, so I don't know what's right and wrong. A comparison with another 2007 showed the same "clunk" feel in its column. Tell me what you folks experience.

2. JayGoldstein

JayGoldstein Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    My 06 has about 66,000 km (41,000 mi). I have experienced this "clunk", under the exact circumstances you've described.

At about 8,000 km, I noticed an occasional clunk when turning at very slow speeds. The steering shaft was replaced @ 12,100 km, but the clunk was not eliminated. I took the car back and the steering yoke was replaced @ 17,200 km.