1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Strange High-Pitched Buzzing When Motor is Off

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by PriusViking, Feb 25, 2019.

1. PriusViking

PriusViking Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Hello! First time posting here, but I've read a lot and already love this forum!

I'm in the market for a new Prius to replace our 2007 that got totaled in a hit and run. We've been hard on the hunt, and I've been inspecting potential vehicles for mechanical issues. I'm by no means an expert or a mechanic, but these days you can teach yourself just about anything using YouTube and forums like this :)

Today I was checking out a 2012 base model w/ about 86k miles on it. I scanned the computers using my OBD2 scanner and it didn't throw any trouble codes. Visually everything looked fine besides the oil being a tad on the low side.

The weird thing was this high-pitched buzzing sound coming from the engine compartment. It happened whenever the car was on but the motor was NOT running. Maybe it's one of those strange "normal" sounds for a Prius, but I don't remember hearing it with other ones I've checked out. I have a video to share, but can't include the link yet since I'm a newb.

Any ideas? Just trying to figure out if this is something serious and if I should avoid this car because it's in really good shape otherwise.

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    It's normal for the car to have a sound when it's on.

But I would be more concerned about the low oil

3. orenji

orenji Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Was the A/C on? The A/C makes a buzzing noise.

4. PriusViking

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Thanks for the info! I don't remember hearing this particular sound on other cars, but maybe I just missed it.