Success Stories - Share your experience.

Discussion in 'PriiDash (TM)' started by 2009Prius, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,833
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I have my 60gig hard drive installed and running Priidash so know more storage problems, and have another good run tomorrow.Wimpy if you need the files let me know and I will upload them.
    John.
     
  2. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Thanks! Let me know how it works out. A pair of the txt and csv files from a good long trip is always appreciated. By the way after a good run do you quit the program (or sleep the laptop) without hitting the Go/Stop button to stop the program? The csv file you uploaded before is missing the final summaries which is usually caused by not stopping the program first. Next time please remember to click the Go/Stop button to stop the program first. Thanks!
     
  3. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,833
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I believe last time when I got to my destination I forgot that my lap top was running on the Prius 12v aux socket and automatically shut the Prius down cutting of the supply to the laptop, Internal batteries have long since stopped working (12 years old lithium).
    Next job convert aux socket to permanently on. Will zip and upload latest files after testing them first.
    John.
     
  4. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,833
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    LOG files.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,833
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I noticed a strange anomaly at the start of the run today, it may show up in the files. When I put the car in ready I went strait to EV mode to reverse out of my parking area I noticed the cat temps 1&2 read 375&215 C even though the temperature was around 0 C but as soon as I came out of EV and the ICE fired up the cat temps came down to air temps and began to rise normally.
     
  6. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Thanks for the files! Yes the cat Ts seem to stuck at previous reading until the engine comes on again. Some values are like that (they don't always update).

    Update: It looks like with the combination of the Windows version and a slow OBD-USB device it's getting data coming in about 1/3 as frequently as the CygWin version. In my earlier test with the same OBD-USB device the Windows version was getting data about 1/2 as frequently as the CygWin version. Still don't know why the Windows version would lose 1/2 of the data.
     
  7. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,833
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Interesting findings, I am looking at the possibility of modifying my OBD-USB device to run at 2,000,000 baud rate I will let you know how I get on. I also will probably have ago at the CygWin version. I do not get your logo on the windows version.
     
  8. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    324
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I'd like to hear about that. Which one?

    I just tried with my OBDLink SX, and find that I can only get data to come through at the 115200 baud rate. Still quite useful, even if the update rate is slow, as I don't think I am going to be watching continuously. Very cool program. I haven't looked at the logs yet, but I am wondering how much data is lost with these slower speeds.
     
  9. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    OBDLink SX should be capable of 2M baud. Look in the FAQ thread.
     
  10. Flying White Dutchman

    Flying White Dutchman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    4,374
    305
    0
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    so it is possible to have a elmchip and run slower then the 2mbaud?
    and the program stil works only with lower refresh on data?
    or wil the program not work when the elm is providing 115baud?

    edit: i am running the windows version now
    not yet connected to the prius but just to see if it installs.. but where do i find the log files? where i can get the HV battery voltages and Ohm that are recorded during driving?
     
  11. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Yes people have run with 115200 baud with ~ 1/3 data rate compared to 2M baud.

    Log files are in f:\OBDLog folder.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    1 person likes this.
  13. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    324
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Thanks for the reminder. That works fine now with the OBDLink SX.
     
  14. christyrell

    christyrell Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    17
    4
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Got my working I'd like to thank Steve for all his help.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Wow that looks like a very nice tablet PC. What model is it?
     
  16. christyrell

    christyrell Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    17
    4
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Its my old trusty Fujitsu Stylistic LT P-600.
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. ccdisce

    ccdisce Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    259
    142
    0
    Location:
    Stone Mtn GA USA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Priidash is a Hit for me. sshot5.jpg
    I was testing my WiFi OBD/DLC device using Priidash the screen indicated a potential problem with the inverter coolant pump for a 10 mile in-town trip. No codes were set as yet
    Prompted me to check for eddies in the tank ...none and no vibration on the cold pump. Changed out the pump now works great.

    ccdisce
     
    thatoneraccoon and 2009Prius like this.
  18. ccdisce

    ccdisce Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    259
    142
    0
    Location:
    Stone Mtn GA USA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just wanted to post this screen shot as it illustrates the 'after screen' that I see after changing out the Inverter Coolant Pump and also to rant a bit.

    sshot7.jpg

    This issue of Inverter Coolant Pumps departing this world is what we have to look forward to and having to depend on other parts of the system screaming for relief from the heat is not optimal IMHO.
    Pre emptively changing out the pump may not be the answer as a number of the replacement pumps that Toyota replaced under the advisory met an 'early' demise.

    Toyota has 'advisory bulletined' the 2004-2007pumps out the pumps for the population who responded to the advisory and were on the affected VINs.
    Now going forward the 2008-2009 folks could be out of luck if they are looking for a refund.

    It would seem then that running Pridash3mfd to monitor the systems would be advised IMHO.

    ccdisce.
     
    2009Prius likes this.
  19. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Wow this is a very impressive before and after comparison! Thank you for sharing the info!
     
  20. ccdisce

    ccdisce Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    259
    142
    0
    Location:
    Stone Mtn GA USA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It would seem that the "Inverter Coolant Pump" cools more than just the Inverter. The 'after' screen shot was taken in higher OAT and gave slightly better mpg numbers.

    It seems to cool the Inverter, Converter, MG1, MG2 possibly through cooling the PSD Fluid through the casting and this just maybe , a tiny bit may contribute to a more efficient system and small increase in mpg readings.

    Maybe 'Inverter Coolant Pump' is an incomplete name and should be extended to something like 'Hybrid System Coolant Pump' as major and costly components could be endangered if the pump fails or goes intermittent for extended periods.
    Pump intermittency or outright failure may not noticed if you are not running Priidash on a daily basis.

    In my case the circuit board that is potted in the base of the pump failed to an open circuit and could no longer induce a spinning magnetic field into the rotor within the pump body. Posted in Priuschat, one owner had his fail to a short circuit that smoked a bit.

    Thanks again for making Priidash available to us.

    ccdisce
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Success Stories Share
  1. 2009Prius
    Replies:
    30
    Views:
    11,665