Successful SKS Reset using Mangoose cable and used Keyfob registration

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by MisterLas, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. MisterLas

    MisterLas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    6
    18
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hey all,

    Purchased a 2010 Prius a few weeks ago, and it only came with 1 keyfob/mechanical combo. So after TONs of research, I got ahold of h00ktern on here who was awesome and took care of cutting me a few duplicates of my 1 and only keyblade for an insanely reasonable price. He also helped fill in the gaps as far as using TechStream and the SKS reset procedure, so much thanks for that.

    I purchased a USED keyfob off of ebay for around $50 and a Mini-VCI (Mangoose) cable from a chinese seller with an "evaluation copy" or TechStream 7.31.000 [added version].

    After fighting to get TechStream to work as described on my laptop (64bit woe, PM for details), I was able to successfully De-Register a keyfob from my car (only wanted the one I have registered, and removed the 1 from the previous owners). This required little to no effort to remove and no SKS reset was required. I will not cover setup and drivers of the MiniVCI cable, but if help is needed, PM me...

    I then tried to register the USED fob I got from eBay using the normal registration procedures. This step, I expected to work FAIL [edited] after talking to h00ktern). My "eval" copy of TechStream did not like the Smart Key registration option, as it would hang on registration of the second keyfob. The "Smart Key Registration (Classic)," however, would not hang, it just refused to add the USED fob... Again, expected.

    Do the SKS reset in READY mode:
    So, onto the fun part... I kicked open my drivers side door on this lovely 20 degree morning in January, and left it open. It is required for the SKS reset to NOT close the door. Not sure which part exactly requires it, I just left it open. I initialized the SKS reset option, and gathered my Seed Code and went to Sigmabit (Calculation of Passcode for Toyota, Lexus, Scion vehicles) to get my reset passcode for only ~$26-27. Let me just state, that their system is NOT automated. I assumed it was, and expected a code rather fast. After like 20 minutes of waiting, I blasted an email and attempted to reach them on Skype, as well as call them. Also a note, it is the weekend, and outside their normal business hours, so I was NOT really expecting to hear back, plus they are in Lithuania, so there was BIG time gap as well. An email did return (it hit my spam folder, and took me 10 minutes to notice) and someone actually texted me from them saying that he was driving. We texted for a few more minutes and he said he'd get me my code soon. Talk about support! After I received the code, I initialized the SKS reset (their code worked!).

    I noticed my laptop battery was getting low and I scrambled to get an extension cord and my charger because I didn't want my laptop to shut off during the reset... Just my luck, the laptop shutoff as I was getting everything ran and the SKS Reset was in progress. "Dammit!" Note, nothing was hurt on the car. But it caused a new seed code. I texted and dude at Sigmabit and begged for mercy and he hooked me up a new passcode rather quickly. The 16 minute security timer was off and running again! This time, with the laptop plugged in, I patiently waited... This is the part where it is flashing in red on the screen "Don't close drivers side door!" Reset worked successfully!

    Do the Smart Key Registration (Classic) in accessory mode:
    I then went through the Smart Key Registration (Classic) option in the Smart Key Utility portion of TechStream. h00ktern informed me to do this step with a USED keyfob first, then the OEM one. After scanning both keys, I selected Register option, and both keys seemed fine. I chucked my OEM key away from my car and tested the USED fob. The used one allowed my car to start, remote start to function, and all the smart key functionality. Everything works!

    To recap:
    1. $25.88 for Mini VCI "Mangoose" cable from ebay
    2. $55.00 USED SKS keyfob (exact model as my current one)
    3. $27ish for a SKS Seed Code reset code

    Beats the stealerships quote of $400ish for a new fob and programming! I'd like to try adding another used fob without an SKS reset to see if that works... maybe in the future sometime.

    If there are any questions or details you guys have/want, please hit me up in this thread or PM me. I'll be glad to assist in anyway I can.
     
  2. h00ktern

    h00ktern Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    134
    40
    4
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Awesome write-up! - be prepared to get slammed with the info requests, lol

    Great job!

    EVO ? 2
     
    PriusCamper likes this.
  3. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    5,641
    2,290
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Wow... Thanks so much for saving so many of us a buncha money....

    Is this the solution I've been waiting for?

    Will this work for Gen2 Prius too?

    Can you post the links to the threads you read that helped you most?

    I also hope others who find this thread and try it can let us know if their efforts were also successful?

    PriusChat saves us all so much money!

    I love this place!

    Maybe I just crossed yet another thing off the list that I thought I had to take my car in for...
     
  4. PriusTime

    PriusTime Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    39
    5
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Can you provide more details on the 64-bit issue with Techstream and how you solved it?
     
  5. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    5,641
    2,290
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    64bit problems are specific to running Techstream software, there are lots of threads on PriusChat that make mention of it... And for me personally 64bit problems are way too central in my life right now, I'm going crazy with win7 64bit configuration issues. I think I'll use my 32bit computer when I get my techstream software!
     
  6. MisterLas

    MisterLas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    6
    18
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I hope this info helps people out! As for a Gen2, I'm not sure... I'd be willing to say, yes, but can't confirm since I don't have one to test on... Anyone in the Southern WV area need (face-to-face) assistance, I'd be happy to help!
     
    PriusCamper likes this.
  7. MisterLas

    MisterLas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    6
    18
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Replied via PM.
     
  8. MisterLas

    MisterLas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    6
    18
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Just wanted to tell everyone that if you have any questions, please don't hesitate to post. And if you are local to Southern WV and need support, just PM me. I live in Charleston and will help in any way I can.
     
    h00ktern likes this.
  9. hairlesshacker

    hairlesshacker New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    2
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Have others tried this and had success?

    What's the risk of "bricking" the car when doing SKS reset with a new seed value?
    If the new passcode doesn't work, does it just revert to the old one, and the old key still works?

    I have jailbroken/rooted phones etc, but it's one thing to brick a $200 phone, don't want to break a $20000 car...

    Also, does anyone have any clues on more info as to what Sigmabit is providing? I mean, it's just some math/hashing algorithm or whatever, that they happenned to get ahold of. Seems like others must know what they're doing... we should be able to replicate the key generation.... (I know, for $25 bucks, it's cheap enough, but I would be interested in knowing how it works...)
     
  10. Simonak

    Simonak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    51
    32
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    This worked very nicely.
    I got used fob for $37
    this cable Wholesale Product Snapshot Product name is High quality v8.00.034 mini vci for toyota tis techstream for all the diagnostic communication protocols with free shipping it have 1.41 firmware
    installed latest Techstream on win7 32bit laptop
    and paid 28$ for the passcode Calculation of Passcode for Toyota, Lexus, Scion vehicles

    After reset when registering keys use the last option that you replace ecu and did reset
    and start with the used key first.
     
  11. Cyb

    Cyb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    3
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    MisterLas,
    h00ktern,
    Simonak,

    Guys, hello!

    I know this thread is a little bit old, but I have a question about SKS resetting.


    What is unclear from your posts is what happens after SKS is reseted?
    I have ONLY ONE key. I can start the car but unfortunately remote functions doesn't work. It seems like SKS doesn't recognize my key.

    I do have an installed Techstream and VCI cable.
    So my question is: after inserting the key, starting the car, running the Techstream and reseting the SKS can I add/register my current key (which is already inserted into the car)?

    Thanks in advance,
    and happy holidays.
     
  12. wesayso

    wesayso Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    384
    35
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, VA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
     
  13. h00ktern

    h00ktern Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    134
    40
    4
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Short answer, yes.

    However, there should be no reason to reset the SKS ECU. A *seed reset* is only required for specific situations, and what you describe is not one of them.

    Another caveat is that not all chi-com clone "Mangoose" cables are created equally - as fully functioning as the official *Mongoose* cable, supported by Toyota... I purchased one and it would not perform as MisterLas' did. In fact, up to that point, I had only heard of one person having a fully functioning cable, useful for SKS procedures (and never verifiable.)

    I would first replace the battery in your fob. If that does nothing, simply *erase* all fobs (de-register all fobs,) and then re-register your existing fob, with the new battery. Erasing a working fob does not preclude re-registering it afterwards i.e. a working, paired fob will be accepted, even without a seed reset.

    Finally, it almost sounds like you have a pre-Gen3 Prius. What year is your vehicle? Reading your description, excluding a faulty fob as the culprit, almost sounds suspiciously similar to a failed "chicken dance" on a Gen2, but I can't say for sure since my experience is Gen3.

    Safe trips



    EVO ?
     
  14. Cyb

    Cyb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    3
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Yes, I know :)

    Battery is fine. And I doubt about erasing all keys and re-registering them. It seems like I don't have a master key, which is necessary according to the Techstream (as far as I understand I have to push lock/unlock buttons on the master key and on the other key in order to add the last one). Thats why, I guess, SKS should be reseted and then may be I can register my key as the master key...

    Yes, I have Gen2 Prius purchased from NA.
    Somewhere, around this forum I believe, I saw a thread about Gen2 and reprogramming key with a Techstream, but I failed to find it, so I posted my question here ...
    Sorry for any inconvenience, and thanks for some clarifications!

    Best regards,
    cyb.
     
  15. Cyb

    Cyb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    3
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Confirmed.
    :)
     
  16. Simonak

    Simonak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    51
    32
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I have no experience with gen2 but what would I do is get another used fob and then try do the whole reset.
    That if the one you have is faulty you will ended up with at least 1 fully working.
     
    cproaudio likes this.
  17. Simonak

    Simonak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    51
    32
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Also as hooktern said you can try remove all fobs and try re register the one you have.
    This dosnt require the whole reset because your key was registered in your SKS already.
     
  18. Wesley Phan

    Wesley Phan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    4
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I have just brought a used key on ebay. My used key fails to be registered when it tells me to put it in the passenger seat. I have tried both the classic and smart code registration features on my techstream. Should I try to reset the SKS?
     
  19. rcubed3r

    rcubed3r Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    28
    3
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I have the same issue as Wes, but bought a new fob. My old and new are ACX.
    Any help appreciated.
    Ron
     
  20. rcubed3r

    rcubed3r Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    28
    3
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I just sent for a pass code. I'll try an SKS reset as described above and update.
     
Loading...