Successful SKS Reset using Mangoose cable and used Keyfob registration

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by MisterLas, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. doctorman

    doctorman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    118
    15
    0
    Location:
    NY 11020
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    do not panic after the reset, as long as you do not open or close your door you stay in the reset mode
    take your time if registration times out do it agian without closing and opening the door, that seams to be the trigger that ends the session and then you will need to reset again.
     
  2. jmkinny

    jmkinny New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    That's good to know. I didn't get that from all that I read. What about only 1 used key fob per reset? If I have two used fobs that I want to add, do I have to go through the reset procedure twice? Also, the way I read what you say (or what I read elsewhere), I can add back one of my original masters at any time, even after the reset period has ended. Or do the original masters have to be added during that reset period? Just curious. I can't imagine getting into this situation.
     
  3. doctorman

    doctorman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    118
    15
    0
    Location:
    NY 11020
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I am not sure about 2 used remotes.I would try to register the 2 used remotes first then the rest original ones.
     
  4. jmkinny

    jmkinny New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Well, I tried the reset again with the second of my 5 tokens. All seemed well. It started the 16 minute reset process. About half way through, it failed. Starting over generated a new seed code, I that cost me another token. I started over and got to the registration process. I held the used fob to the switch for the full 30 seconds, but nothing happened. I restarted the registration process and re-registered one of my originals. At that point, it looks like it ended the "reset mode". I say that because I had to use the registered original to register my second original. I was expecting to register one after the other without using the original between each.

    I got another NEW fob and tried to add it, but it didn't recognize it. So, jumping to conclusions, here is my assessment of what is going on: If the car can recognize a fob as "used", the registration process must write to the fob during that process. It appears to me that my car is not capable of doing that writing. I am guessing that it doesn't have to write to the originals to register those, so those work OK. At this point, I don't see any alternative but to go to the dealer for help. I just don't see how that will work out well. I am predicting that the only way that they will be willing to deep dive into this is if I buy the fob from them. We'll see. I am going to try them tomorrow.

    The other alternative is that Toyota has changed something in the 2015 Highlander so that the process is different. The latest techstream software (10.00.028) does not indicate any alternate programming scheme.
     
  5. jmkinny

    jmkinny New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    The plot thickens... Apparently, it is not enough to match the FCC code. Toyota uses the same design for multiple vehicles, but changes the code within. It is not enough of a change to get a new FCC certification, so the same number is used. I haven't gotten the "correct" part number yet, so I can't confirm this, but it sounds like that is what my problem was.

    The new factory remote that I received and tried without success has a part number of 8990-0R080. The part number needed for my vehicle is 89904-0E120. I have ordered one. We shall see how it works.
     
  6. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,871
    30,673
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    That tears it: if I ever need a replacement fob, I'll just head down to the dealership. :ROFLMAO:

    I admire your tenacity, tho.
     
  7. doctorman

    doctorman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    118
    15
    0
    Location:
    NY 11020
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    sorry I thought you have worked through that already finding the right FOB is the most important part and yes smartkey has a Circuit board number that has to match and the FCC ID is not enough.
    circuit board number is inside the FOB on the circuit board printed on in white ink.
    open your original FOB and take a pic of it and shop based on that.

    toyota part number does not mean much .. it is just a place to start if you do not have any FOB to check the circuit board.

    again a virgin key is as good as used key + SEED reset only if they are a match and working.
    you will get it. do not give up.

    DEALER will charge you 450$ for a new key and programming, if you need a FOB and can not follow direction yes dealer is the last resort..
    It is not much of time saver either since buying a the FOB online take 15 min, programming it takes 35min , a trip to dealer takes easily 3 hours of my time.
     
  8. jmkinny

    jmkinny New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    6
    1
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    SUCCESS!! Finally. Once I had the correct virgin fob, it took less than 5 minutes to register. Lessons learned:
    You MUST have the correct key fob for your car. It is NOT sufficient to just match the FCC ID (HYQ14FBA). You have to look inside at the number on the circuit card (see picture below). Number shown is 5-217451-330. My number was **281451-2110. Good luck doing an internet search for this number. I got two hits on my number, one in Australia and one in Italy. I ended up going to an online Toyota parts dealer that had an online search. You punch in your VIN and then browse for the part that you want. It took me an hour and a half finding the part. For some reason, the search by description didn't work. With the correct Toyota part number, I was able to order a new one. Online price was $125 incl shipping. My dealer wanted $316. My dealer wanted $50-$70 to program. I purchased the Chinese techstream software through Amazon for $23. 30 minutes to install the software, 5 minutes to register key. $20 for two blank emergency keys.

    Avoidable costs: $28 for reset codes (for adding used key fobs), $7 for postage to return all of the fobs that didn't work for me (qty 4). I don't yet know if any of the vendors will charge a restocking fee, but that could be up to another $50. I also need to get the mechanical key cut. Still, all in all, a LOT less money than going to my dealer. And... I got an education out of it to boot!


    upload_2015-5-6_18-51-43.png
     
  9. Ejbj

    Ejbj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A

    i just wasted 4 codes before figuring it out...
    I was able to program 2 used keys. I bought the car with a key with limited functionality, only emergency key and start in slot.
    I bought a second one used from eBay. $50

    WHAT I LEARNED (2007 Prius)

    1. After the reset, you only get one used key to program, if your other keys were previously programed they will work fine
    2. the key has to be previously programed to the immobilizer. So make sure key in slot works
    3. If you have a charger, connect it to the vehicle. Mine got some fans going during the process
    4. Do the USED (never partnered to your vehicle) first. insert it in the slot and press start twice (no brake pedal) when you get to the step that asks for: Ignition-ON, then it will tell you to turn off, so do that and remove the key. follow the remote buttons sequence.
    5. Any additional keys that where previously partnered to the vehicle can be done next, even on another session without reset or codes.
     
  10. Mario SM

    Mario SM Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    8
    3
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    2007 Prius

    Big thanks for introducing this to me! I lost one of my FOB's and then my original master didn't work for SKS anymore so I couldn't program a new one with the chicken dance for SKS. With tech stream toyota-techstream-v9.30.002 and LEXUS, SCION, TOYOTA PASSCODE CALCULATOR / GENERATOR: Calculate Pass-code by Seed number | Immobilizer Pincode Calculator (official website) I was able to get mine sorted really quick.

    I reset all smart codes and reregistered with my new fob I bought of eBay. I then did a second one and my original master wouldn't work at all so there must have been something wrong with it's wireless system. But the good news I have 2 new ones
     
  11. lucaspiller

    lucaspiller Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    32
    19
    0
    Location:
    Lithuania, EU
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Summer has come, so I can sit for 15 minutes with the driver's door open without freezing, so I'm trying to program the spare (used) fob I picked up last year from eBay.

    I had Techstream v10, but when performing the SKS Reset the code it is supposed to generate was blank. I found something only saying that it could be caused by a corrupt install, so I uninstalled and upgraded to Techstream v12. However, in that there is no SKS Reset option (the section is called Entry&Start now). Any ideas?

    Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 12.15.46.png
     
  12. Figster10

    Figster10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    183
    56
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two

    This post was clearly written in 2013 but I'm wondering if there is anything else out there that can provide me with a new seed code as I too want to use this much cheaper method to add keys to my gen 2 prius. Thanks
     
  13. Markymarkandthepriusbunch

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Anyone still around that has contributed to this thread? I have my original key that is damaged(but still works), and also a 2nd key (from an 05 Prius) that I did the chicken dance with to use for to start my 06 Prius. I would like to be able to use the smart key function with the key from the 05 Prius. Is that possible?
     
  14. Danny13pruisc3

    Danny13pruisc3 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2020
    41
    3
    0
    Location:
    maryland
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Do you have a link to the SKS chicken dance? I have a 2nd gen with 1 key and i want to make a spare even if it's just ot start the car..
     
  15. Danny13pruisc3

    Danny13pruisc3 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2020
    41
    3
    0
    Location:
    maryland
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Do you have a link to the SKS chicken dance? I have a 2nd gen with 1 key and i want to make a spare even if it's just ot start the car..
     
  16. Val Rousseau

    Val Rousseau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2021
    21
    5
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I know that many people are having problem to run techstream on Windows 10, so here is how I successfully did it:

     
Loading...