Swapping in a Gen 4 Prius' 2ZR Engine into the Prius v

Discussion in 'Prius v Accessories and Modifications' started by Tideland Prius, Sep 28, 2018.

  1. Sandog53

    Sandog53 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    43
    69
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, Mo
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    After a trip to the Toyota dealer I think I figured it out. I’ll report back. Getting ready to start it up. Fingers crossed.
     
  2. Sandog53

    Sandog53 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    43
    69
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, Mo
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Next snag was the map sensor. I missed it earlier because the motor I received has the nipple broke clean off. Calling it a night. I’ll figure it out tomorrow.
     
    Ragingfit likes this.
  3. Sandog53

    Sandog53 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    43
    69
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, Mo
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Ok. The old map sensor has 4 pins but 3 wires. The new map sensor has 3 pins and 3 wires. Looks like they are ground, 5v and map signal. Can anyone verify which color is which on a 2010 vs a 2017? If I can re pin a plug then It should work correct?
     
    Ragingfit likes this.
  4. cnc97

    cnc97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    889
    1,026
    28
    Location:
    Evansville, IN
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three

    I think you may have to put your Gen 3(original) intake back on the Gen 4 engine. When I was doing my swap, If I remember correctly, the air box interfered with the intake and wouldn’t mount correctly. But it’s been a year since I did my swap.
     
    Ragingfit and mjoo like this.
  5. mjoo

    mjoo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    756
    939
    12
    Location:
    Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Or just remove the stock box and install a short ram intake, Injen?
     
  6. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sidewalk Supervisor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    34,098
    23,064
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I'm still trying to get my head around this. Can you go through this list, yes-or-no them, or clarify:

    1. You're using 4th gen EGR valve, cooler and connector pipe to intake manifold?
    2. You're using 4th gen intake manifold and throttle body?
    3. You're using 3rd gen exhaust manifold, and the pipe on that that bolts to the EGR cooler is what you bent? The highlighted pipe:

    upload_2019-8-12_9-46-15.png
     
    #166 Mendel Leisk, Aug 12, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2019
    Ragingfit likes this.
  7. Sandog53

    Sandog53 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    43
    69
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, Mo
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
     
    Ragingfit and Mendel Leisk like this.
  8. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sidewalk Supervisor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    34,098
    23,064
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Sweet...
     
    Ragingfit likes this.
  9. Sandog53

    Sandog53 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    43
    69
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, Mo
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Maybe. I have some issues I need to sort out tonight. I need a 16-17 wiring diagram for a few things. I think the pinout on the egr might be different. I want to try and make as much work as I can, just need to do a little more research.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  10. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sidewalk Supervisor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    34,098
    23,064
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    It's too bad the 4th gen exhaust manifold can't be used, but I believe it's exit flange is completely different, attitude, location, impossible to connect to exhaust.
     
  11. cnc97

    cnc97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    889
    1,026
    28
    Location:
    Evansville, IN
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three

    The Gen 4 manifold also has the catalytic converter in it too.
     
    Ragingfit likes this.
  12. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sidewalk Supervisor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    34,098
    23,064
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Oh yeah....
     
    Ragingfit likes this.
  13. Sandog53

    Sandog53 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    43
    69
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, Mo
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Aight. It ran tonight. Started up ran for a minute then went soft and threw a P3190. Only code I got though. Progress is progress. This is with all the new stuff still. I have not swapped anything back to gen 3 yet.
     
    Ragingfit likes this.
  14. mjoo

    mjoo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    756
    939
    12
    Location:
    Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
  15. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sidewalk Supervisor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    34,098
    23,064
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    That's a good link, hopefully just a disconnection: vent hoses from gas tank that run to intake manifold, via a little gizmo that bolts to driver's side of intake manifold.
     
  16. cnc97

    cnc97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    889
    1,026
    28
    Location:
    Evansville, IN
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    This turn of events, from a “No, that’s not possible” when I asked if it was possible to put a Gen 4 engine in a Gen 3; to exactly how much of the Gen 4 engine can I retain when installing it into a Gen 3.
     
    #176 cnc97, Aug 12, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2019
    Ragingfit, Mendel Leisk and mjoo like this.
  17. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sidewalk Supervisor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    34,098
    23,064
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Just like Everest climbs, 4 minute miles, and so on.
     
  18. Sandog53

    Sandog53 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    43
    69
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, Mo
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    I rechecked every hose, connection, fuse I could think of. I swapped throttle bodies. Same code. So i put them back. I swapped cam and crank sensor. Same code. Put it back. I know I am missing something dumb. Charging the battery tonight. Try again tomorrow. Hybrid battery Is low also.
     
  19. Sandog53

    Sandog53 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    43
    69
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, Mo
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Ok. I’m stumped. I give up. Checked all the obvious. Oil level Is ok. Still code 3190. Recharged battery. Checked hoses, connections, fuses, plugs. What’s weird is when the car runs it smells really rich then knocks a little bit when it dies and shows the 3190 code. Any ideas on what else to check? I’d love to make all this work, but I think I’m at my limit of knowledge.
     
    mjoo likes this.
  20. cnc97

    cnc97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    889
    1,026
    28
    Location:
    Evansville, IN
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three

    Which injectors are in the engine now? Change them out and see what difference that makes. If you have the Gen 4 intake on it, you may need to put the Gen 3 on it.
     
Loading...