Tactrix cable and Techstream assistance

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Geo Dude, Sep 1, 2018.

  1. Geo Dude

    Geo Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    8
    3
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have a 2015 Prius Two. I recently bought a Tactrix cable so I could turn on the anti-theft system. (The head of the cable is brand new and in perfect shape, by the way.) I have a Macbook, so I also installed VirtualBox where I'm running Windows 7 (32 bit) so I can run Techstream. I downloaded the driver for the Tactrix cable in Windows, and it connects to Techstream and is usable....sort of. There is no customization button on Techstream, it entirely refuses to access the anti-theft system ECU, there is no customization button, and my access to all other functions is purely passive: all I can do is look for error codes. I started out using Techstream v.12.20.024, and then based on reading a thread in a Sienna forum I switched over to v.12.10.019, because several users said that that version restored the customization button. In my case it didn't: the interface was the same as the newer version with no customization button, and the Tactrix cable had the same limited access. I'll share some screenshots that will hopefully be helpful. I did note that the (theoretical) Xhorse cable had access to more features than the Tactrix cable does....


    I'm at the end of my rope here and really need some help troubleshooting this. Is there some extra set of drivers for the Tactrix cable I'm unaware of that will make it more functional? Do I need to buy another cable to get my alarm turned on and give up on the Tactrix? Should I try switching to an older build of Techstream? I have no idea what to do.

    By the way, I apologize if this post is poorly written. I've been fighting with this issue all day and I'm exhausted.
     
  2. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    8,554
    11,539
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Try an earlier version of Techstream. I have 10.30.028 and it has more functionality than the 12.20.024 or something like that I had prior;).

    I do t think the cable is the issue as the MacBook is seeing the car and menus. It’s just the Techstream version your using:(.

    Good luck and keep us posted (y).
     
    RMB, Geo Dude and Grit like this.
  3. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    2,236
    2,011
    1
    Location:
    BOY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Seen that anti theft section on techstream when hooked up to my prius, not able to turn that feature on so it may not be a driver cable issue. Forgot what the error was, will try to revisit that and take a photo of it next time, maybe this Monday.
     
    Geo Dude and Raytheeagle like this.
  4. Geo Dude

    Geo Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    8
    3
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Thanks for the info.

    By the way, the reason I wondered if the cable is the issue is that the XHorse (in theory) has access to the J1850PWM and VPW protocols and the Tactrix cable doesn’t, as per the screenshots.

    I’ll try an older version of Techstream. I know there has to be some way to do this because other gen 3 Prius owners have managed to do it.

    Also, I’ll note that I called the dealership’s service department about this and never got a call back, and the indie hybrid mechanic shop in that town wants $175 to turn the alarm on.:eek: So I’m determined to do this myself if it’s possible. (I’ll eventually move on to discovering Techstream’s other features, but one thing at a time.)
     
    RMB and Raytheeagle like this.
  5. RMB

    RMB Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    341
    536
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Oooppss...... didnt know our Prius has alarm system :rolleyes: I always thought was keyless entry LOL

    :(But then I updated my techstream to 12.20.024, it is now asking for product key and I haven't gotten to get that taken care of. Wanted to get version 12 because version 10.10.018 doesn't support 2018 Sienna.

    Why would version 12.xxxxxx has less feature while it's newer???o_O
     
  6. RMB

    RMB Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    341
    536
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    @Geo Dude Looking at the images closely, "*System--- White w/Asterisk = ECU not supported or not responding." Perhaps your Two and my Three really don't have anti-theft system???
     
  7. ITBland

    ITBland Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    433
    253
    3
    Location:
    New Orleans, La area, US
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Isn't there a cable diagnostic in Techstream? I had a cheap miniVCI that would not connect to the K line sometimes and would have to restart everything to get it to connect. With only CAN bus, you can read and clear codes, but the configuration screens were unavailable.
     
  8. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    7,384
    4,997
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Drew Technologies (the outfit behind the Mongoose Pro dongle that's Toyota's official choice) has a "J2534-1 Bus Analysis Tool" available on their downloads page. It lets you make arbitrary J2534 calls and see what comes back, so it's handy for testing any J2534 dongle, not just theirs.

    I downloaded it so I could ask my Openport what its firmware version was, and then just kept it around.

    I am sure I have used Techstream with my Openport to tweak configurations in my Gen 3.

    -Chap
     
    Geo Dude and ITBland like this.
  9. Geo Dude

    Geo Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    8
    3
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Bad news regarding trying an older version of Techstream: all downloads of versions prior to v12 or so--the ones that are easy to find at least--have been gutted. All you get is the Techstream installation file, no notepad with the key number, no cracked main menu file to install and replace the original main menu with, nothing that will actually make it function.

    RMB: My understanding of the situation is that Toyota generally installs the same tech in all trims of a given model, but only activates the alarm system (and some other features) in higher end trims to encourage you to buy a more expensive car. Some gen 2 users here have gotten their alarm systems up and running using Techstream, and it seems to work in Gen 3. (Do a search for a thread titled Prius Alarm.) I suspect that in the worst case scenario Toyota has found a way to lock that option to make it harder for car owners with Techstream to reprogram it, I doubt they removed it. It's more likely a quirk of the version of Techstream I'm using, or the cable, or both.

    ITBland: I'll reinstall the version of Techstream I was using and look around for a cable diagnostic feature and let you know what I come up with.

    Chapman: What version of Techstream are you using? Thanks for the info.
     
  10. Geo Dude

    Geo Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    8
    3
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I’ve made progress! Sort of. (Unfortunately, I was unable to find a cable diagnostic feature on Techstream.)

    I got ahold of a copy of Techstream v.12.00.127 and it does have a customize button on it! Unfortunately, the anti-theft system—which apparently includes key programming options within it—still isn’t available from the main screen. So, I used the customize menu and tried to customize the security system. It told me I couldn’t do that, because the option to turn it on was turned off. I went to options (within the customize section) and turned on the option to modify the alarm. Then I went back to “Security” in the customize menu and clicked the option to turn the alarm on. Success! I thought. Unfortunately, that didn’t actually turn the alarm system on. :( (I tested it after unplugging.)

    I was still unable to access the anti-theft system on the main screen after turning on the alarm option in the customize menu, which might be part of why turning it on didn’t work.

    With that said, I was able to go into the customize menu and set the feature that auto-locks the car one minute after you unlock it (without opening a door) from one minute to two, and I was able to turn off the beep when your seatbelt is unbuckled, so the customize menu does work for some things. Just not the alarm system. :/
     
    ITBland likes this.
  11. ITBland

    ITBland Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    433
    253
    3
    Location:
    New Orleans, La area, US
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Geo Dude likes this.
  12. Geo Dude

    Geo Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    8
    3
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I’ll try that and see what it says. The alarm system is my main priority, so hopefully I can figure out why I’m not able to access that system. I’d like to at least have a dummy light flashing in the dash.... (For that matter, key programming features may be important at some point in the future, and they’re locked under the same system.)


    EDIT: I used the recommended testing tool and it indicates that the Tactrix cable is connecting on the ISO9141, 14230, 15765, and CAN protocols. (All supported protocols, in other words.) Does anyone have any ideas about why the car/Techstream are locking me out of the anti-theft system in spite of getting this and a working customization button going?
     
    #12 Geo Dude, Sep 3, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2018
Loading...