1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Taking a Gamble?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Jordyt, Aug 18, 2015.

1. Jordyt

Jordyt New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi all! I just discovered Prius Chat and I think that it is wonderful! I come to you all today asking a very serious question: Should a high-mileage Prius be avoided?

I'm thinking about getting a Prius and have found several 07-09 models located near me that are well priced ($4,700-5,000) and they are all in absolutely stellar shape inside and out. However, I hesitate to jump on one because they are all rather high mileage. They range from 185K-200K. The owners / car lots that these cars are all at state that they are all in great shape and that they are all still getting 45+ MPG and that they are still being used quite regularly.

I'm a college student that is looking for a nice dependable car that will last me through the last year of my undergrad and see me into my travels across the US while completing my master's and PhD work, so I can't afford a huge costly repair such as a battery replacement. If it is any help these cars have all been in southern KY their entire lives, but have all been very well cared for, from the looks of things. The interior on all of them looks like brand new and they all seem to drive quite well.

Thank you in advance for any advice that you might be able to give me! I'm looking to stay in the $5,000 range on a car, as that's what I have to work with and I really don't want to have to take a loan out on something. I'd much rather just pay it all off at once and be done so I don't have bills coming in left and right.

Thank you all!

2. Munpot42

Munpot42 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Search for an 8 to 10 year old low mileage Toyota Corolla, for your position in life at this time, it is a much better bet.