1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Technology Package and Solar Sunroof Package

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by KartBoy, Sep 18, 2012.

1. KartBoy

KartBoy New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I am yet to see a Prius with both of these options (I am new to the game, but have been searching and searching). Does a car like this exist, or am I on the hunt that will never end?

2. HTMLSpinnr

HTMLSpinnr Super Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    N/A
    In the US, it's a hopeless endeavor - the technology package adds too much weight to be combined w/ the solar panels. Solar panels are good for around 62lbs. I believe you can partially mix this in other countries provided you're using 15" wheels.

Believe me - I "cried" too when the car was first released and realized I couldn't get both features together - I REALLY wanted the LED headlights, but my climate (AZ desert) justified the solar roof as a higher priority.

3. Jonny Zero

Jonny Zero Giggidy

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    How much weight does the AT put on? I have a yellow stick on my door jam that says the car has been modified and added XX lbs. Is that for the AT package? Kind of stiff for an additional ECU, radar, and camera. 2012s do not have the silly park assit.

4. a priori

a priori Canonus Curiosus

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    It could be that the solar panel package is too heavy to add on to the ATP -- semantics!

The "silly" park assist is an interesting and somewhat engaging technical achievement. Still, I've never found a spot where I thought it was worth utlizing. I've tried to use it on "tough" fits, but it would simply say there isn't enough room. I've then just parked it in those tight spots the old-fashioned way. Truly, I cannot recall the last time I even engaged the system.

5. HTMLSpinnr