Techstream driver issue

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by jimson8, Jul 7, 2020.

Tags:
  1. jimson8

    jimson8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    4
    1
    0
    Location:
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I recently misplaced the backup key fob for my 2011 Prius, and after realizing how expensive it would be to replace, I ordered a new one online and attempted to program it myself, but I haven't had any luck.

    I also ordered a mini VCI cable with a CD of the Techstream software (v. 13.00.022 and 14.20.019) and tried several times to follow the installation instructions exactly as described in the video that was on the DVD, but when it comes time to install the driver, I keep getting the error message that you can see in the attached screen grab ("MVCI driver for Toyota TIS Setup Wizard ended premautely").

    I did some research online and discovered that this problem might be related to me trying to install this on a computer that's running the 64 bit version of Windows 7 (instead of the 32 bit version), so I tried following some special instructions I found online (at bit [dot] ly [slash] 2ZcdleF) but I still couldn't get the entire process to complete. When I clicked to update the firmware, nothing happened, and the firmware icon simply disappeared. Also, when I attached the cable from my computer to my car and clicked "connect to vehicle," nothing happened. I never got the boxes that say "initializing USB connection" or "Vehicle Connection Wizard."

    I also tried running the software on my old laptop that's running Windows XP (since it's 32 bit). The MVCI driver seemed to install without any problems, but again, when I connected the cable and tried clicking "connect to vehicle," nothing at all happened.

    Does anyone have any suggestions of how I can fix this? I'm thinking I might just have to take the car to the dealer to get it programmed after all :(

    Scott
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jas8908

    jas8908 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    42
    37
    0
    Location:
    dallas
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Five
    You probably need to charge the windows registry. May want to search for the registry file for your TS version.
     
  3. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    10,052
    12,316
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    The XP computer seems like the easiest way to go assuming you have at least SP 2 installed. (It might need SP 3, not sure about that.) You'll want to keep the computer permanently air gapped or XP will have a virus probably within seconds of connecting to the internet. But you probably know that already.

    It was a long time ago that I installed TS and it was on XP running in Virtual Box on a Linux laptop, so I can't give you any reliable details.

    I do have an AVI video that I got from another member here that shows the installation on XP. This one on YouTube looks like the same one I have.
     
  4. sam spade 2

    sam spade 2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    5,747
    2,283
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    Before you do that, call around to a few locksmiths in the area.
    There is NO NEED to tell them the whole story about what you tried to do.
    Just that you have a new FOB that needs to be programmed.
     
    ASRDogman likes this.
  5. jimson8

    jimson8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    4
    1
    0
    Location:
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Yes, I called around the other day. I actually found a couple of local dealers that said they would program my key fob and cut the key for $65, which is less than any of the locksmiths would charge. Since I didn't purchase the remote directly from them, however, they said they'll charge me whether or not it works.
     
  6. jimson8

    jimson8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    4
    1
    0
    Location:
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Yes, I already tried updating the registry with the 64 bit driver file.
     
  7. jimson8

    jimson8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    4
    1
    0
    Location:
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Thanks for your help, but I tried this again with the same results. The drivers seem to be installed OK on the XP machine. I selected XHORSE - MVCI from the VIM select menu, then tried to connect to vehicle. I waited and waited some more, but nothing at all happened. I almost wonder whether it's a faulty cable.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  8. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    10,052
    12,316
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Could be. I've seen comments here about bad cables.
     
  9. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,737
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    The obd connector has LEDs that light up, since it’s not mentioned then it’s I’ll just use my energy on other threads ;)
     
  10. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,562
    779
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
  11. tvpierce

    tvpierce Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    936
    855
    2
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    On the XP system, do you get any error notifications related to Java?
     
  12. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,562
    779
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
  13. PriusGuy32

    PriusGuy32 Prius Driver Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    1,335
    453
    0
    Location:
    Harrison Township, Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I installed Techstream on my old laptop, an Acer Aspire from 2008 or so, running Windows Vista. Although I have upgraded laptops twice since the Acer, I keep the Acer because it runs Techstream flawlessly. When I first got Techstream when I bought my first Prius in 2012, I remember reading a lot of people who do the same thing - buy, or keep their old Vista laptop to run Techstream solely. Might be a consideration. Vintage lappies with Vista are probably $25 on fleabay, or marketplace these days.
     
    ASRDogman and Raytheeagle like this.
  14. alftoy

    alftoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    303
    126
    0
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Premium
    I have Techstream running on my Acer Win10 laptop. Acquired MiniVci cable from seller in UK on Ebay, this was Aug 2019, seller was able to use Teamviewer to work out issues with my laptop with V14 Techstream. I notice seller is no longer selling Mini Vci cables. I just updated to Techstream 15.10
     
  15. prius8654

    prius8654 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    61
    9
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I want to buy a VCI dongle that will allow me to use Techstream with my Toyotas (I have a Sienna and a Prius). There are way too many to choose from on Amazon, do you have a brand / vendor you can recommend (or maybe a link to one that it legit)? I do have an old Windows XP netbook that I can use for this purpose as I guess many say that using Techstream on a 64 bit windows 10 setup can be difficult to get the drivers right..
     
  16. tvpierce

    tvpierce Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    936
    855
    2
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    You answered your own question. Use the netbook running Windows XP. You already own it, and it should be easier to set up.
     
  17. prius8654

    prius8654 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    61
    9
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    My question is this: There are way too many to choose from on Amazon, do you have a brand / vendor you can recommend (or maybe a link to one that it legit)?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  18. tvpierce

    tvpierce Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    936
    855
    2
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Just pick one.

    They're all cheap Chinese counterfeit knockoffs. I see they're now running anywhere from $22 - $159. I doubt there's any correlation between the price and quality so you might as well just get the least expensive one.

    How about this one for $23? That's what I'd buy if I was in the market for one.

    The version of the software they're selling is immaterial. You can download it for free online.
     
  19. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,635
    10,281
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The ones that claim to be XHorse Mini VCI are all counterfeits, because the counterfeiting (as I understand it) completely undercut XHorse's ability to manufacture and sell the real one.

    If anybody is listing a Mini VCI knockoff anywhere near $159, that's highway robbery. At that price point, you could go ahead and buy a Tactrix Openport 2.0 direct from Tactrix for $169. Or you could buy a VxDiag VCX Nano for something around $80 if I remember right.

    Note that counterfeiters are going after those companies too. You can find things claiming to be the Openport 2.0 for way less money, but please don't buy them; last thing we need is for Tactrix also to be wiped out by the counterfeiters. If cheap is what you want, it's best to buy something like Mini VCI where the original maker was driven out long ago and the damage is already done.
     
    tvpierce likes this.
  20. tvpierce

    tvpierce Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    936
    855
    2
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I agree 100%. I didn't know the history. Too much time has elapsed for me to edit my last post to delete the Amazon link.

    In the interest of full disclosure: when I bought my cable years ago, I bought the cheap counterfeit from Amazon. I would gladly have paid $80 to support the developer. I'm not sure I'd have paid $160 - $170 though.

    Thanks for the info @ChapmanF .
     
Loading...