1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Techstream for newbies after replacing ABS Master Cylinder and Pump Assembly

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Hunaid, Nov 2, 2023.

1. Hunaid

Hunaid New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I'm a broke student and a total newbie to Hybrids so please don't mind. Last month I bought a used 2010 Prius with 98K miles, after a month and 1500 miles of driving, the ABS light, break lights and Traction control lights came up. Went to a mechanic and the scan showed C1391.

I replaced the ABS Master Cylinder and Break booster Pump Assembly both with new OEM parts from Toyota.

Now, the mechanic did not do calibration as he does not know how to do it nor does he have the software (Techstream which is suppose is what I require). I have codes C1451 and C1345 popping up in the scan now.

Someone told me I can get a license for Techstream cheap from eBay and the cable required to connect to the vehicle. The question is, can anyone explain me or show me (attach a video link or something) how to run the software and what kind of calibration/programming do I need to do in order to get rid of the check lights that I still have on the dashboard.

Is this a one (newbie) person job or does it require expert hands and multiple person involved to fix it?
    From what I understand is that I need to do some sort of air bleeding, how does one broke student do that as cheap as possible by himself in some park?

Toyota dealership and 3rd party repair shops are asking $350 and more to fix these codes which are now out of my budget. The parts alone costed me $1200, and $300 labor for installation, I don't want to pay any extra dime to do basic calibration via some software to activate the new parts I installed.

P.S. I have zero knowledge about cars and hybrids specifically. I can only follow precise steps shown or illustrated to fix my issues.