Techstream not giving P0AA6 subcode

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Valualv, Oct 17, 2020.

  1. Valualv

    Valualv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2020
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    2006 prius with 140k miles. Car died on me with all lights on dash on including red triangle of death. Will not go into drive or reverse. Had to tow to my house to figure out what’s wrong. Bought obd2 and got error code p0AA6. Found out I needed to figure out a sub code to get more specific so I bought tech stream and now I have P0AA6-526 which also isn’t specific enough. For some reason it isn’t giving me any other sub codes (612,614,613). I’m not sure how to proceed from here. I’m reading that most likely there’s a leak in the hybrid battery but there’s no way for me to pinpoint it without getting the proper sub code. Has anyone else had trouble with not getting a sub code for P0AA6 from tech stream? Help!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    81
    37
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    The car will only set a 611 to 614 subcode if it can determine where the isolation fault is. A footnote in the service manual says these subcodes are set the next trip AFTER the 526.

    Since your car can't drive, here's something to try. With the ignition on but not ready, clear then check for codes. If it reset immediately then your fault is in the battery- a leak or the ecu. If not go to ready. If it codes immediately then your problem is contactors, cables, or inverter. If not shift to drive (or wait until the ICE tries to start.) If it codes now then you likely have a MG1/MG2 fault. Lastly try the AC.

    This what the car would do when it sets one of the other subcodes, assuming that the fault wasn't bad enough to disallow operation completely.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    #2 mr_guy_mann, Oct 17, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2020
  3. Valualv

    Valualv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2020
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thank you for your response, mr_guy_mann. What do you mean by “clear” and check for codes though?

    I haven’t been able to get my car into ready since all of this happened. I’ve disconnected and reconnected the 12 v battery in hopes of getting it to go into ready but it never does... also what’s ICE?
     
  4. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    4,852
    2,621
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    In the first instance, I would NOT clear the codes.

    Instead, attempt to make the car READY (even though it won't go READY) and then check the freeze frame data for the P0AA6 again. Hopefully, you will now see a second detail code in the 611-614 range.
     
  5. Valualv

    Valualv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2020
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Dolj, how am I supposed to make the car go into ready if it isn’t doing it? Can you please explain? Thank you.
     
  6. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    81
    37
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Ok, I assumed that since you are using the Techstream software that you have been reading posts on this forum, and made further assumptions about how much you know. It's difficult to try and give a response when I don't know what level of experience you have, what tools you have, etc. The question I have right now is do you have the tools and knowledge to safely work on the High Voltage system on your Prius? It can be done IF you are careful and take precautions, but if you don't you can get hurt or damage things. ICE is Internal Combustion Engine.

    The code you pulled is for a high voltage isolation fault. Normally the entire high voltage system has absolutely no connection (infinite resistance or complete isolation) to the 12 volt system or the metal of the car body. In your case one of the control modules has determined that there is some continuity or "leakage" from the high voltage system to the body- somewhere. Any repair requires working on the HV system, hence my question above.

    Now dolj made a good point about the code. Do as he suggested- use techstream, go into the section for the battery ecu, check for codes there, and look for a little "snowflake" symbol on the same line as the P0AA6. That is freeze frame data. If that is there, click on it and see what info it gives you. Do that first then we'll cover erasing or clearing codes.
     
  7. Valualv

    Valualv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2020
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Mr_guy_mann, thanks for your response. I’m learning everything as I go and i am cautious enough to know to be ready and prepared before I start working with the HV system.
    I did click on that snowflake you mention and what I got is the image that I uploaded on my original post.
     
  8. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    4,852
    2,621
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    The key word here is ‘attempt’ as in press the power button with your foot on the the brake. It likely won’t get to READY, but it will cycle the start up process and hopefully set the second sub-code.
     
  9. strawbrad

    strawbrad http://minnesotahybridbatteries.com

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    849
    827
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    The first start after disconnecting the 12 volt battery requires you to push the power button twice with your foot on the brake. The standard one push of the power button will not make the car go ready.

    Here's a dangerous way to check the battery for high voltage leaks without the sub codes. Wear gloves and use an alligator clip so you can handle just one test lead at a time.

     
  10. Valualv

    Valualv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2020
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So I think I found the problem! I was able to put the car into ready mode and ended up getting the 612 detail code. So definitely a leak in the battery pack. I ran diagnostics for each block's voltage and to my untrained eye it looks like I'll have to replace block 1 and 14. Do you see the same thing in the attached photos?

    So I am thinking about what I have to do and have been doing a bunch of reading/YouTube video watching for the last couple of weeks. Now that I think I know I need to replace to blocks, my plan is to order the modules and replace them and re-balance the battery.

    I am going to be ordering high voltage gloves and all of the tools I'll need for the job. I am wondering about a hobby charger and how those work. I've seen people recommend several online, have you worked with any or have any recommendations?

    Thanks so much for your help!

    Screen Shot 2020-10-19 at 5.27.25 PM.png

    Screen Shot 2020-10-19 at 5.26.50 PM.png
     
    #10 Valualv, Oct 19, 2020
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 21, 2020
  11. strawbrad

    strawbrad http://minnesotahybridbatteries.com

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    849
    827
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Well, your untrained eye is misleading you. It's very common for the two end modules to run a tenth of a volt lower than the rest. It does not mean they are any better or worse than the others.

    When modules start to leak their performance is not affected. So you can't use their voltage or capacity tests to find the leakers. The test shown in the video will help locate the leak. Unlike the battery in video your battery would hold a steady voltage between the orange plug fuse and the battery case. That will show how far from the fuse the leak is. With the battery out of the car, the orange plug installed, and the cover off you can measure for voltage between the battery case and different spots along the line of bus bars. The measured voltage will be small at the source of the leak and climb as you move away from the leaky module. Once everything is disassembled measure for voltage between the metal mounting bolt inserts on the bottom of the modules and the opposite battery terminal. Good modules will show near zero volts. Don't be surprised by seeing milli volts. Leakers will measure close the total module voltage. Leaked electrolyte can also spread to adjacent modules and create false positives.

    Use extreme caution when working on your battery. Because of the leak the battery case (and the car body) is now part of the high voltage circuit.

    To learn more about the leak detection circuit review this thread.

    HV battery isolation question. | PriusChat
     
  12. mr_guy_mann

    mr_guy_mann Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    81
    37
    0
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    's way too slow
    Be very cautious when you do anything- strawbrad is right on about .

    If you want to try the hobby RC charger route, look at the discharge capability. Almost all (cheap) chargers only do 5 Watts per channel- that will take way too long to cycle a module. That can be 6-8 hrs per cycle per module. Each of the 28 modules might need 3-6 cycles. A better (and pricier) charger can discharge faster (more power)- 10W or 20W. I spent over $300 on equipment- multiple chargers and a discharger. Still took a month plus of spare time to do my pack. The modules have to be "clamped" together and cooled the whole time.

    More/ better chargers are faster but cost more money. (the "recommended" unit was the Charsoon Antimatter 4x 300W, 4 channel so it can do 4 modules at one time. Listed on some China sites like Banggood- but that unit needs a separate high wattage 12V power supply. Availability can be erratic- when I checked in July it was 2-3 month shipping- so I didn't get that, now it says 2-3weeks)

    Here is a super long thread https://priuschat.com/threads/gen-ii-prius-individual-battery-module-replacement.125588/. It generated as many questions as it answered. Having done it the "cheap" way myself, you might want to have a serious look at the Prolong grid charger system.
     
Loading...