1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Tell Me how to do my Job

Discussion in 'Environmental Discussion' started by TonyPSchaefer, May 18, 2006.

1. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    If you don't know yet, I am an Instructional Designer for a Building Automations company. This means that I write the training classes people attend and the online courses that people access. My work recertifies existing technicians, trains new employees, and educates our customers. "Building Automation" includes the electronic brains and wiring that control the mechanics used to ensure populated buildings are heated, cooled, ventilated, de/humidified, and basically maintained in a comfortable manner.

With all that said, I have picked up a new project; one that I am pretty excited to be working on and I know most of you will appreciate. You see, my European parent company has always had an eye towards environmental action and energy efficiency in all of their dozens of tentacles spanning multiple industries. In fact, last year I wrote two classes - one for employees and one for customers - about how to run a commercial building more efficiently (very advanced controls stuff). My new project takes that same platform and applies it to the very core of the company: every single employee will take a series of one-hour online courses about energy efficiency, environmental awareness, and things they can do to actively address their personal use of energy and material resources on a daily basis at work and at home. I have the ability to address each employee's very values and hopefully raise awareness enough to stimulate action.