1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

TEQ center caps

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by mysta2, Oct 22, 2015.

1. mysta2

mysta2 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Hello folks.

Having removed my touring wheel covers a long time ago, I had always planned on putting some kind of center cap in there. What I really wanted was a TEQ badge for it, and I figured I would have to model it up and machine it myself. This is what I do for a living, but it is still a lot of work, so I put it off.

Well, the other day I was finally getting around to taking some measurements and starting my model when it occurred to me that maybe I wasn't the first to come up with this idea. A little searching on line and I found there was a model on Shapeways that I could just buy. I ordered four printed in "black and flexible" for $12.88 each (a little pricey for sure, but almost exactly what I wanted) Crossing my fingers that they would fit, since the original designer made them for his FRS, I waited for my parts. They fit perfectly.

Another project that I had in mind was to replace the badges of the car with like TEQ badges. I looked for these online as well, but with no luck. There were plenty graphics, but no 3D work. So I did have to model them. The original logo was round, so I had to play with it a bit to fit it into the sombreros ellipse.

You can see from the attached pics that the ring is a bit thin as compared to the original sombrero. Because of this, it doesn't quite cover the alignment holes in the rear panel. I may have to re-model this one.

I matched the wheel color with the paints we have on hand (didn't do a spectacular job as you can see from the installed pic) With the parts primed, sanded, painted, and clear coated, they are ready to install. The center caps are on already.