The dreaded Check Hybrid System

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by SteveLee, Nov 29, 2017.

  1. SteveLee

    SteveLee Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    634
    173
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Got the warning, says to place it in park. Tried the 3 times on/off resent. No change. Don't have a battery tester. Did disconnect 12v and placed a charger on it for a few hours. No change. It does start the engine but it doesn't want me to go anywhere. Thoughts?
     
    amos likes this.
  2. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,940
    14,968
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    How many miles on your Prius?

    Did you have the inverter software flash performed?

    Is the hybrid battery fan clean?

    Keep us posted (y).
     
    amos, bisco and SteveLee like this.
  3. Jayw13702

    Jayw13702 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    142
    169
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth UK
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    You need to get the codes read in order to establish what’s wrong


    2010 Gen 3
     
    amos, SteveLee and Danny3xd like this.
  4. SteveLee

    SteveLee Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    634
    173
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    145k miles, have not had inverter software flashed, fan and port are clean.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  5. SteveLee

    SteveLee Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    634
    173
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Also has an OEM battery. I'm guessing the original.
     
  6. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,940
    14,968
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    There was a recall for the inverter flash. You had the 2010 since new?
     
    SteveLee likes this.
  7. SteveLee

    SteveLee Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    634
    173
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    No. Got it about a year 1.5 years ago. I didn't see that recall.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  8. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,940
    14,968
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    It was many years ago.

    Check your VIN in the toyota system and you should see if it was done.
     
  9. SteveLee

    SteveLee Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    634
    173
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    SOFTWARE UPDATE FOR MOTOR GENERATOR ECU AND POWER MANAGEMENT ECU ~|~DONE

    Would that be it?
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  10. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,940
    14,968
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    That’s it:).

    Do you have Techstream or know someone who does so the codes can be retrieved? That would be my next step ;).

    Keep us posted (y).
     
  11. SteveLee

    SteveLee Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    634
    173
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    So could a bad 12v cause this issue? Is that likely with a 3-7 yo battery?
     
  12. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,940
    14,968
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Did this message occur while in operation or on start-up? If during start-up, it could be the 12v, but if during operation, it could be the inverter.

    Only way to know is to get the codes read ;).

    I have the original 12 v battery in our 2010 Prius II purchased in August 2009 and still going strong:).

    Keep us posted (y).
     
  13. SteveLee

    SteveLee Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    634
    173
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Is there a recommended code reader setup for a smartphone?
     
  14. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,940
    14,968
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    The Aps for smartphones won’t be able to read the hybrid specific codes you’re dealing with:(. I believe if you have an Android style phone, the Torque Pro app works but might not be able to get the specific codes (only pull the generic ones).

    I have an old laptop with Techstream loaded on it. Bought a $20 J2534 mini VCI cable off of Amazon that allows for pulling codes.

    Hope that helps (y).
     
    SteveLee likes this.
  15. Jayw13702

    Jayw13702 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    142
    169
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth UK
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I’m using obd fusion and that allows me to interrogate the hybrid system, however it was a 9.99 add on to the app, but worth it


    2010 Gen 3
     
    SteveLee likes this.
  16. SteveLee

    SteveLee Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    634
    173
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I

    It does, thank you. Since it doesn't want me to drive it, tells me to place it in park, I will have to figure out a way to get the codes read. Looking for turbulence in the inverter coolant might be an indication, yes?
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  17. SteveLee

    SteveLee Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    634
    173
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Added to the Torque Pro app?

    Has anyone used the BlueDriver Bluetooth Professional OBDII Scan Tool?
     
  18. Jayw13702

    Jayw13702 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    142
    169
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth UK
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Obd fusion is similar to torque but it’s a different app, available on iOS and Android


    2010 Gen 3
     
    SteveLee likes this.
  19. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,940
    14,968
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    That will only tell you if the inverter coolant pump is working. Haven’t heard of very many failures on the Gen3 with this, but it is possible. One symptom though is if you “overheat” the inverter loop, that car shuts down but will allow you to restart once the temps are better.

    Let us know the codes when you get them(y)
     
    amos likes this.
  20. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    43,480
    31,151
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    My first thought: check the hybrid system, lol. Seriously, I'd get the dealership to check for codes.
     
Loading...