The Gen 4 Rebooting Poll

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by ATHiker, Dec 13, 2016.

?
  1. No, never

    62.2%
  2. Yes, but the issue resolved itself so no worries

    10.8%
  3. Yes, and I took it to the dealer for them to fix

    5.4%
  4. Yes, but issue is intermittent and I am living with it (argh)

    16.2%
  5. Yes, it is driving me nuts and I need to get this fixed!

    5.4%
  1. ATHiker

    ATHiker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    624
    546
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    This poll asks Gen 4 owners about their rebooting experience.
     
  2. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    6,430
    7,010
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Mine, soon after I got it came up with a series of "MALFUNCTION" errors (many of them) scrolled across the screen. I stopped, turned it off, back on and it's never done it again. I'll ask at the service in 3 weeks time for them to check it - I'd guess it left a trace in the computer.
     
  3. Gen 2 Tom

    Gen 2 Tom Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    333
    285
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln Park NJ
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Mine got hungup when I did some thing on the car screen that involved something on my IPhone. You can see I forgot what it was, as II never did it again. But some of the basic car to phone things work fine. I answer the phone, speaker phone, etc Since then never a problem. I did do the software update, a few months ago.

    Maybe others can comment on what there doing that causes the reboot.
     
  4. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    6,430
    7,010
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just driving. It had driven 400m on EV from cold, it started ICE when got to 38km/hr, then 500m later it showed MALFUNCTION etc.
     
  5. WPMartinIV

    WPMartinIV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    9
    22
    0
    Location:
    North Augusta, SC
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    Mine has been rebooting randomly since March. The dealer has reset the radio 3 times to no avail. They replaced the radio in October and I am still the same issue. I'm dropping it off tomorrow for an update that should fix the issue, says the service manager.
     
  6. Rangerdavid

    Rangerdavid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    1,362
    51
    0
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    Mine does it too. Not consistently, but occasionally. Quite annoying. Is there any notice to Toyota about this issue?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    snordyke likes this.
  7. ATHiker

    ATHiker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    624
    546
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Mine has gone into a continual rebooting loop 3x since I bought the car in January.

    Each time I was on the highway, and the issue resolved itself by stopping the car and restarting it.

    I am approaching 36,000 miles so I am concerned it will get worse after the warantee runs out-- especially considering some of the horror stories you hear about with such frequency.
     
    RCO likes this.
  8. altdel

    altdel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    70
    36
    1
    Location:
    Danville, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have never had a reboot of my Two for the 20,000 miles I have put on it. Prior to this Two, I drove a 2006 Gen 2 for 10 years (200K miles) and had never had a reboot either.
     
  9. RCO

    RCO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    3,709
    5,170
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Not sure about Alan's Ozzy Prius, but is it just Prii with nav systems playing up I wonder. (n)
    My UK Business Edition, like your 2 doesn't have Nav and no problems with rebooting either....
    so far!
     
    alanclarkeau likes this.
  10. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    6,430
    7,010
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I had my PRIUS in for service today, I asked them to check the MALFUNCTION errors.

    They said there was a code error which pointed to a faulty BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH. It is on order -- 4+ weeks from JAPAN.
     
    RCO likes this.
  11. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sunday driver DIY’r

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    42,143
    30,197
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Our 2010 doesn't have this screen. What is it ultimately missing, mainly built-in Navigation I guess? And it's prone to possession?

    Heehee.
     
    RCO likes this.
  12. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    6,430
    7,010
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    No, mine doesn't have the NAVIGATION SCREEN - it was on this screen - came up with big print " xxx MALFUNCTION - Visit your dealer"
    upload_2017-2-7_15-54-53.png

    There were at least ½ dozen maybe 10 MALFUNCTIONS flashed on the screen - I started writing them down and only got as far as "Antilock Brake System Malfunction Visit Your Dealer”, though it wouldn't SHIFT gear from Neutral. Additionally, lots of lights were showing on the screens - including the MALFUNCTION lamp.

    At the time, I turned it off, restarted - and it's gone for a couple of months with not further ado. Hopefully a Stop Light Switch will prevent it happening again.
     
    Mendel Leisk and RCO like this.
  13. RCO

    RCO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    3,709
    5,170
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    See Al, that's what comes of all this handbrake-turns you've been practicing in organ pedal toccata. :ROFLMAO:
     
    alanclarkeau likes this.
  14. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    6,430
    7,010
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I had the handbrake clip installed today too - but that was a recall :cool:. It took them about a month to source the clip.
     
  15. RCO

    RCO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    3,709
    5,170
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Can't understand all the delays. I used to get one round the rear every few days. Wife thinks I still need one or two daily!
     
Loading...