1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

The Rim Scam

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by JohnF, Feb 29, 2016.

1. JohnF

JohnF Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I knew many dealers are "stealers", but never grasped the extent of the "alloy rim scam". I won't name the dealerships involved. I have been shopping for a 2016 Prius Model 2 ECO. My local dealer told me they had located one in the color I wanted at another dealership. But there would be an upcharge of $800 for optional alloy rims that were already installed on the car. So I looked at the Toyota website and discovered that no Toyota packages are offered for the ECO model. Hmmm, so they would have to be aftermarket rims.

Whilst looking at Tire Rack and Discount Tire for a second set of rims for snow tires, I discovered that alloy rims that would fit would cost as little as $100 each, or $400 for a set of 4. So figuring that the dealer paid less for them by buying at wholesale pricing, but would have to bear the expense of mounting & balancing, at a guess his net cost for the swap might be $400 (ignoring TPMS sensors, which would probably just be transferred to the new rims). So roughly $400 of the $800 might be profit for him.

But no! I was curious what it would cost to get a second set of OEM rims from my Toyota dealer. The parts guy told me that (a) the OEM rims for the ECO are alloy (I hadn't seen an ECO so I was not sure, the Toyota website is not very informative) and (b) cost $350 EACH, or $1400 for a set of 4!!!

I seriously doubt if that dealer supplies the takeoffs with the car. So the dealer gets $400 + $1400 = $1800 out of the deal. And the customer pays $800 for a set of rims that are worth $1000 LESS than the OEM ones. Wow!

#1 JohnF, Feb 29, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2016
  2. David Beale

David Beale Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    And your point is? ;)