1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Thermostat hell

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Cap'n Steve, Apr 17, 2017.

1. Cap'n Steve

Cap'n Steve Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have entered thermostat hell. Yes, I'm one of the guys wanting to try a sealant for my head gasket leak. Of course it says remove thermostat. Assuming what I'm trying to remove actually IS the thermostat housing, how the hell do you get that out? I've removed the air intake of course. And I have 2 of the 3 nuts off the thermostat. But what in the actual fock am I supposed to do to get that 3rd one? Ok...Stop laughing at me. I'm not a mechanic, although mechanically inclined. Advise and ridicule in 3...2....1...

202k mi

Montgomery and bisco like this.
  2. Cap'n Steve

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    And now my water pump makes a funny sound like it's drowning every few seconds. And I can't seem to drain the system. Only trickles from the petcock. Opening the reserve tank helps a little. Bit the reserve stays full with the petcock open.

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    sounds like you have air in the system. i think there are threads here on how to bleed it properly. all the best!(y)

4. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring

Attached Files:

Raytheeagle and bisco like this.
  5. Cap'n Steve

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Unlike many, I did my searching in here before posting. I did find that schematic, and some helpful videos. None if which prepared me for the pain of getting that thermostat out. Contortionist indeed! Maybe I've just reached my frustration point with this car.