1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Thinking about buying a plug in

Discussion in 'Prime Accessories and Modifications' started by Gregg Gilden, Apr 19, 2019.

1. Gregg Gilden

Gregg Gilden New Member

Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Guys, I don't have a Prius...but it wouldn't accept my trying to post here without me specifying.

I have a dream...that would be people who live in apartments would not have to use charging stations, instead they would own 20 lb chargers that they would carry from their apartment to their car and charge it.

I realize this wouldn't work in Manhattan, because even the Yeti 3000 could only give you 18 miles, but in places like NJ, Brooklyn, Queen, Long Island, I think it can work.

So I need help, because I'm not an electrician.

Here is the thought process and logistics (in the form of a letter):

Dear Prius rebuilder people (if any of them see this posting and can reply first hand with estimates I’d appreciate it):

I’m a retired on disability former state worker computer geek with ADHD, OCD, TMI, and possibly aspergers.

I only drive a couple of miles (under 100 and that’s to my parents) every two weeks. On a weekly basis I maybe drive a total of 30 miles to go to the supermarket, get pizza and go to physical therapy 4 miles from my apartment.

I’m looking at buying a Prius Prime.

I live in an apartment. No running the cable to the car.

I want to buy two of these 500 to 2000 kWh portable batteries, which I need to keep under 20 lbs (ruling out most of the units like the Yeti). Sungzu over in China makes a 1kW unit that does the job, I also saw a 500 kW unit at Walmart (but I’m thinking a little bigger).

I want to do one of: